10 LC 94 1711

House Resolution 1259

By: Representatives Harbin of the 118th, Anderson of the 117th, and Sims of the 119th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending Columbia County Youth Leadership for its outstanding contribution to the
- 2 community and inviting its members to appear before the House of Representatives; and for
- 3 other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, Columbia County Youth Leadership represents the collaborative efforts of the
- 5 Columbia County Chamber of Commerce, the Columbia County School System, and local
- 6 business and residential communities; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Columbia County Youth Leadership is supported by the generous contributions
- 8 of time, talent, and money from volunteers and business leaders throughout Columbia
- 9 County under the sponsorship of the Columbia County Chamber of Commerce; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Columbia County Youth Leadership is a countywide program that develops
- 11 leadership skills among outstanding high school sophomores and juniors, through the
- 12 interaction with local leaders and decision makers, and provides students with a unique
- 13 opportunity to gain valuable first-hand experience in the civic, business, and government
- 14 sectors of Columbia County; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Columbia County Youth Leadership fosters essential leadership qualities in
- promising high schools students from public, private, and home schools, and more than 280
- 17 graduates have benefitted from this innovative program since its inception in 1999; and
- 18 WHEREAS, this organization consists of many students from Columbia County, including
- 19 Jonathan Baker, Rebecca Beaird, Ben Bissell, Brandon Black, Tommy Coleman, Wesley
- 20 Colston, Maddy Elledge, David Gibbs, Haley Goolsby, Sebastian Gray, Jonathan Hartman,
- 21 Daniel Horuzsko, Marie Jolly, Matthew Keskula, Johnny Leonard, Charmaine Marshall,
- 22 Macy McNair, Michael Moore, Haleigh Newman, Brendon Palowitch, Kendyl Pennington,
- 23 Rachel Scaffe, Keith Sellars, Garrett Sisson, Caroline Stanley, Ben Stewart, Elizabeth
- 24 Valerio, and Jacob Walker; and

10 LC 94 1711

25 WHEREAS, through their guidance and hard work, the members of the Columbia County

- 26 Youth Leadership Committee are helping to cultivate the future leaders of Columbia County
- 27 and of the State of Georgia; and
- 28 WHEREAS, the dedicated members of the Columbia County Youth Leadership Committee
- 29 are Paula Beckman, Helen Bissell, Tracy Cleveland, Patrick Clifford, Jenny Hinton, Brian
- 30 Jones, Frank Lindley, Dr. Holland Maness, Chuck McKee, Julie Miller, Dr. Laura Mulloy,
- 31 Brian Ozden, Michelle Piper, Carolyn Rahn, Karen Ribble, Cary Rivers, John Sessions,
- 32 Carolyn Tynan, and Traci Valerio; and
- 33 WHEREAS, the futures of all Georgia communities depend on individuals such as the
- 34 Columbia County Youth Leadership participants who are willing to dedicate their time and
- 35 talent to civic affairs.
- 36 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 37 the members of this body commend Columbia County Youth Leadership on another
- 38 successful year of working with Columbia County's youth and also commend the Columbia
- 39 County Chamber of Commerce for its role in sponsoring this outstanding program.
- 40 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Columbia County Youth Leadership is hereby invited
- 41 to appear before the House of Representatives at a date and time to be fixed by the Speaker
- 42 of the House for purposes of being recognized by the House and receiving an appropriate
- 43 copy of this resolution.