## Senate Resolution 937

By: Senators Butterworth of the 50th, Heath of the 31st, Smith of the 52nd and Murphy of the 27th

## A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending Georgia State Patrol Post 7 in Toccoa, Georgia; and for other

2 purposes.

3 WHEREAS, the Georgia State Patrol officers of the Toccoa Post are highly regarded by the

4 citizens of this state and the local community as officers of unquestioned integrity who are

5 dedicated to the sound principles of law enforcement; and

6 WHEREAS, Post 7 of the Georgia State Patrol has seven road troopers and three supervisors

7 whose duty it is to protect and serve the citizens of Stephens, Hart, Franklin, Habersham, and

8 Rabun Counties; and

9 WHEREAS, in 2008, Post 7 troopers challenged themselves to aggressively enforce

10 Georgia's traffic laws and address DUI offenders in their territory by conducting 369

11 individual sobriety checkpoints, spending 1,757 hours at road checks and removing 444

12 dangerous and impaired drivers from Georgia's roads; and

WHEREAS, Troop 7 surpassed all other patrol posts in DUI arrests and increased their DUI
arrests by 68 percent from 2007; and

15 WHEREAS, due to their tireless efforts to reduce alcohol related car accidents and deaths,

16 the number of DUI-related traffic fatalities dropped from eight within their five-county

17 territory to two from 2007 to 2008; and

18 WHEREAS, in 2009, the troopers of Post 7 challenged themselves again and increased their

19 DUI enforcement by an additional 5 percent, making 464 DUI arrests and apprehending 145

- 20 wanted persons; and
- WHEREAS, Post 7 Toccoa troopers received recognition from MADD with the 2008
  MADD HERO Award and the 2008 Post of the Year Award; and

10

WHEREAS, Post 7's Post Commander, SFC Tommy Waldrop, was named the Northeast
Traffic Enforcement Network's Officer of the Year, while Trooper First Class Dave Snyder
was recognized with his second "Todd Helcher DUI Award" for excellence in DUI
enforcement and TFC Brian Roberts received the 2009 "Todd Helcher DUI Award" for
excellence in DUI enforcement; and

- WHEREAS, the dedicated members of Post 7 include SFC Tommy Waldrop, Sgt. Mark
  Perry, Sgt. Chad Johnson, Cpl. Mike Hopkins, Sr. Trooper Jim Andrews, TFC Casey Coffee,
  TFC Anthony Colman, TFC John Crawford, TFC Jason Hendrix, TFC Rhett Parker, TFC
  Brian Roberts, TFC Dave Snyder, TFC Jason Stephens, TFC Jody Taylor, Tpr. Eric
  Bohannon, Tpr. Bradley Graham, SCEO Dean Wood, CEO Dennis Pauley, CEO Linda
- 33 Garrett, and Post Secretary Brenda Scarborough; and
- 34 WHEREAS, the dedication to keeping the streets of Georgia safe and free from impaired
- 35 drivers demonstrated by the officers of Georgia State Patrol Post 7 is worthy of recognition.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
commend the care, fortitude, and selfless dedication exhibited by the officers of Georgia
State Patrol Post 7 and extend to them their utmost appreciation for having so purely and
truly defined for others the meaning of public service.

40 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
41 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Georgia State Patrol Post 7.