10 LC 94 1781

Senate Resolution 874

By: Senators Grant of the 25th, Crosby of the 13th, Mullis of the 53rd, Pearson of the 51st, Harp of the 29th and others

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending all 4-H Clubs of Georgia and declaring February 8, 2010, as
- 2 4-H Day at the state capitol; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 4 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 5 Georgia; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mr. Brock Hufstetler of Bartow County serves with distinction and dedication
- 7 as State 4-H President; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Mr. Arch D. Smith of Cooperative Extension and Interim State 4-H Leader, has
- 9 worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Garrett Hibbs of Oconee County,
- 11 Mary Clayton Gilbert of Bartow County, LaVonte Lovette of Jenkins County, and Zachary
- 12 Allen of Lowndes County, as District Presidents has been acknowledged by the 4-H
- 13 membership in their election of each of these young people to serve as president for 2009-10;
- 14 and
- 15 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Katie
- 16 Comer and Jerico Phillips of Carroll County, Ellie Baldwin of Bleckley County, and Hillary
- 17 Thornton of Charlton County, were recognized in Washington, D.C. at the 2009 National
- 18 4-H Conference; and
- 19 WHEREAS, John Scott of Madison County and Mary Singleton of Forsyth County, were
- 20 named 2009 Leadership in Action Winners; and

10 LC 94 1781

21 WHEREAS, Hunter Brock of Turner County, Ashleigh Marie Day of Peach County, Katie

- 22 Thigpen of Charlton County, Ellie Baldwin of Bleckley County, and Hillary Thornton of
- 23 Charlton County were named state winners in the 2009 Dean's Awards competition; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Haley Gilleland of Ben Hill County won the 2009 National Egg Preparation
- 25 Demonstration Contest in Louisville, Kentucky.
- 26 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 27 recognize and commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and
- 28 Environmental Sciences 4-H Program, Mr. Brock Hufstetler, State 4-H President, Mr. Arch
- 29 D. Smith, Interim State 4-H Leader, and each of the 2009-10 4-H district presidents, 2009
- 30 Dean's Awards winners, 2009 National 4-H Conference delegates, 2009 Leadership in Action
- 31 winners, and the 2009 National Egg Preparation Demonstration Contest Winner for their
- 32 numerous accomplishments and for the leadership which they have demonstrated.
- 33 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 34 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the University of Georgia Cooperative
- 35 Extension.