10 LC 36 1500

House Resolution 1165

By: Representative Maddox of the 172nd

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing February 4, 2010, as Veterinary Medicine Day at the state capitol and inviting
- 2 representatives from the Georgia Veterinary Medical Association to appear before the House
- 3 of Representatives; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, Georgia veterinarians use their scientific knowledge and skills for the benefit
- 5 of society through the protection of animal health, the relief of animal suffering, the
- 6 conservation of livestock resources, the promotion of public health, and the advancement of
- 7 medical knowledge; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Georgia veterinarians protect the health and welfare of animals in this state that
- 9 serve as a source of companionship, nutrition, and education for the people of this state; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Honorable Sonny Perdue, the Governor of this great state, is a veterinarian and
- 11 he is representative of the many veterinarians throughout Georgia that own and operate
- businesses in both large and small communities; and
- 13 WHEREAS, the Georgia Veterinary Medical Association has been the voice of organized
- 14 veterinary medicine for more than 100 years; and
- 15 WHEREAS, those working in the field of veterinary medicine demonstrate great
- 16 compassion, understanding, and kindness for the animals in their care and their dedication
- and commitment to the betterment of the animal world is appreciated and acknowledged.
- 18 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 19 the members of this body commend those in the veterinary medicine field for their
- 20 contributions to improve the health and welfare of animals throughout the state.
- 21 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Thursday, February 4, 2010, is recognized as Veterinary
- 22 Medicine Day at the state capitol and that the following distinguished members of the

10 LC 36 1500

23 Georgia Veterinary Medical Association are invited to appear before the House of

- 24 Representatives at a date and time to be fixed by the Speaker of the House: Dr. Myron
- 25 Downs, Dr. Hugh Hill, Dean Sheila Allen, Dr. Vince Obsitnik, and Claire Reagan.