09 LC 94 1454

House Resolution 914

By: Representative Epps of the 140th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., and recognizing April 26, 2009, as Macon
- 2 Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Day at the state capitol; and for other
- 3 purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., is a public service organization founded on
- 5 January 13, 1913, by 22 visionary women at Howard University in Washington, D.C.:
- 6 Osceola Macarthy Adams, Marguerite Young Alexander, Winona Cargile Alexander, Ethel
- 7 Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr Chisom Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie
- 8 McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, Myra Davis Hemmings, Olive Jones, Jimmie Bugg
- 9 Middleton, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Vashti Turley Murphy, Naomi Sewell Richardson,
- 10 Mamie Reddy Rose, Eliza P. Shippen, Florence Letcher Toms, Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie
- 11 Blackwell Weaver, Madree Pen White, and Edith Motte Young; and
- 12 WHEREAS, only weeks after its founding, the sorority's first public act was participation in
- 13 the Women's Suffrage Movement demanding rights for women, particularly the right to vote;
- 14 and
- 15 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., is a sisterhood of college-educated women
- 16 committed to implementing the sorority's mission through its Five Point Program Thrust:
- 17 Educational Development, Economic Development, Political Awareness and Involvement,
- 18 and International Awareness and Involvement; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the sorority recently celebrated 96 years of exemplary service and support to
- 20 local communities, leading dialogue on public policy issues, supporting quality education,
- 21 producing new projects to stimulate current and future economic growth, and improving the
- 22 lives of the people in their communities; and
- 23 WHEREAS, the Macon Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., was chartered
- on April 26, 1958, by 12 illustrious and vivacious women: Obie Bailey, Early Dean Bogan

09 LC 94 1454

25 Mathis, Barbara Clowers, Delores Cook, Lucille Armour Driskell, Gussie Pope Felton,

- Wendell D. Howard, Bettye O. Hutchings, Carol Perdue, Martha W. Sheftall, Evelyn Bennis
- Wells Nichols, and Helen Williams Powell; and
- 28 WHEREAS, the Macon Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., has upheld the
- 29 sorority's values through its extraordinary service programs, including Delta GEMS, support
- 30 of L.H. Williams School, Teen-Lift, the SEE program, and a host of other programs and
- 31 projects that have provided invaluable services to the community; and
- 32 WHEREAS, in the Spring of 2009, 41 women aspired to the goals and ideals of Delta Sigma
- 33 Theta Sorority, Inc.: Kristal Johnson, Yolanda Robinson, Beverly Hudson, Jaquel Johnson,
- 34 Tonya Woolfolk, Vanessa Williams, Latricia Riggins, Kimberly Lawson-Thomas, Ashley
- 35 Jordan, Andrea Thomas-Ingram, Chandra Jordan, Sylvia McGee, LaTanya Singleton,
- 36 Kersela Lewis, DeAndra Richard, Melinda Robinson, LaTanya Foster, Katina Cabiness,
- 37 Jocelyn Hunt, Talya Lawson, Joy Moten-Thomas, Linda Thomas, Stephanie Woods Miller,
- 38 Kashatriya Eason, Jimese Davis, Dana Williams, Terralon Chaney, Yolanda Daniel, Lakisha
- 39 Thomas, Angela James, Deonna Harvey, Randi Warren, Barbara Franklin, Stacy Collins,
- 40 Belinda Chaney, Monica Coleman, Paquita Adkins, Cathy Dothard, Maia Scott, Yulonda
- 41 Hurst-Hill, and Tawanya Wilson.
- 42 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 43 the members of this body commend Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., and its Macon
- 44 Alumnae Chapter for its continued commitment to public service to the community and the
- 45 State of Georgia, and recognize April 26, 2009, as Macon Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma
- 46 Theta Sorority, Inc., Day at the state capitol.
- 47 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 48 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Delta Sigma Theta Sorority,
- 49 Inc.