09 AM 28 0938

## **ADOPTED**

Senators Unterman of the 45th, Hawkins of the 49th and Wiles of the 37th offered the following amendment:

1 Amend SB 188 (LC 36 1323) by striking lines 54 through 58 and inserting in lieu thereof the 2 *following:* 3 (1) Three voting members shall be code officials who shall be appointed by the Governor 4 from a list of nominees submitted by the Georgia Association of Code Enforcement; 5 (2) One voting member shall be a code official appointed by the President of the Senate; 6 (3) One voting member shall be a code official appointed by the Speaker of the House 7 of Representatives; 8 (4) The chairperson of the Georgia Municipal Courts Training Council or his or her 9 designee, which member shall not be a voting member; and 10 (5) The chairperson of the Georgia Magistrate Courts Training Council or his or her 11 By striking lines 60 through 63 and inserting in lieu thereof the following: 12 (c) The initial voting members shall be appointed on or before June 1, 2009, and shall 13 take their positions on July 1, 2009. The three voting members appointed by the 14 Governor shall serve until December 31, 2011, and until their respective successors are 15 appointed and qualified. The voting members appointed by the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall serve until December 31, 2010, and 16 17 until their respective successors are appointed and qualified. Thereafter, successors shall 18 be appointed to terms of two years and until their respective successors are appointed and 19 qualified.

- 20 By striking lines 71 and 72 and inserting in lieu thereof "take an oath of office and shall,
  21 upon taking the oath of office, receive".
- 22 By inserting "voting" before "members" on line 77.