09 LC 35 1364

Senate Resolution 470

By: Senators Buckner of the 44th, Seay of the 34th, Unterman of the 45th, Sims of the 12th, Thompson of the 33rd and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending Georgia's Legacy; Older Women! (GLOW) and the 2009 GLOW honorees;
- 2 and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Georgia's Legacy; Older Women! is an organization which recognizes the many
- 4 contributions of those women who are past the usual age of retirement but who remain
- 5 actively engaged in business, employment, or volunteering; and
- 6 WHEREAS, this organization and its incredible members promote community service and
- 7 encourage women to make a difference in the areas of the arts, education, women's health
- 8 issues, finance, and safety issues concerning children and senior citizens; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the organization also encourages its members to address global relations and
- 10 international affairs and to assist other women in becoming economic and business leaders
- in Georgia and the nation; and
- 12 WHEREAS, GLOW also places special emphasis on women in public service, and
- 13 recognizes the efforts and accomplishments of their fellow members; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the 6th annual Georgia's Legacy; Older Women! event will recognize 18
- outstanding 2009 GLOW honorees: Fae Casper of Douglas County, State Representative
- 16 Barbara Massey Reece of Chattooga County, Ann H. Dobbs of Dodge County, Dr. Judy
- 17 Hulsey of Franklin County, Suzan B. Spivey of Chattooga County, State Senator Gloria
- 18 Butler of DeKalb County, State Senator Nan Orrock of Fulton County, State Representative
- 19 Pat Gardner of Fulton County, State Representative Cecily Hill of Camden County, State
- 20 Representative Penny Houston of Berrien County, former State Representative Jeanette
- 21 Jamieson of Stephens County, State Representative Judy Manning of Cobb County, State
- 22 Representative Barbara Sims of Columbia and Richmond Counties, State Representative
- 23 Georganna Sinkfield of Fulton County, Commissioner Betty Rose Bowers of Fulton and

09 LC 35 1364

24 Jackson Counties, Commissioner Carole B. Dabbs of Cobb County, Commissioner Deana

- 25 Womack of Cobb County, and Commissioner Nellie Dunaway Duke of Carroll County; and
- 26 WHEREAS, the citizens of Georgia owe a tremendous debt of gratitude to GLOW and the
- 27 2009 GLOW honorees for their many contributions to their communities and state and the
- 28 positive role models they represent for women both young and old alike.
- 29 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 30 commend Georgia's Legacy; Older Women! for their generous volunteer service and selfless
- 31 efforts to improve the quality of life within their communities, and extend congratulations
- 32 to the amazing women who are the 2009 GLOW honorees.
- 33 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 34 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Georgia's Legacy; Older Women! and
- as each 2009 GLOW honoree.