09 LC 94 0795

Senate Resolution 438

By: Senators Buckner of the 44th and Seay of the 34th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending members of the Morrow High School JROTC; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, the Georgia 791st AFJROTC held its 30th annual military ball on February 14,
- 3 2009, at Ft. Gillem, Georgia; and
- 4 WHEREAS, several students from Morrow High School's JROTC programs received
- 5 recognition for their outstanding performance and dedication; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Tianna Lewis was presented an Air Force Association Award, Whitney Bush
- 7 earned a Daedalian Award, and Traung Bui was recognized with an American Legion
- 8 Scholastic Award; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Felicia Brown earned an American Legion General Military Excellence Award
- and a Veterans of Foreign Wars Award; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Robert Gray was awarded a Reserve Officers Association Award, Lowell Jones
- was presented a Military Officers Association of America Award, Randolph Marsh was
- 13 given an AMVETS award, and Elbony Curney earned a National Sojourners Award; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Stefania Rodriguez was presented a Daughters of the American Revolution
- 15 Award, and she earned the Distinguished AFJROTC Cadet award; and
- 16 WHEREAS, a Sons of the American Revolution Award was presented to Demetrius Yancey,
- 17 a Military Order of the Purple Heart was awarded to Orlando Lewis, and an Airforce
- 18 Sergeants Association Award was given to Terrance Richardson; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Crystal Meyers and Shalya Cain were awarded Tuskegee Airmen AFJROTC
- 20 Awards; and

09 LC 94 0795

21 WHEREAS, Outstanding Cadet Ribbons were presented to Crystal Meyers, Tyeisha

- 22 Anderson, Felicia Brown, and Tianna Lewis; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Leadership Ribbons were given to Orlando Lewis, Stephania Rodriguez,
- 24 Terrance Richardson, Lowell Jones, Tianna Lewis, and Renata Butler; and
- 25 WHEREAS, Achievement Ribbons were earned by Traung Bui, Orlando Lewis, Randolph
- 26 Marsh, Tianna Lewis, Crystal Meyers, Monet Fox, Carlea Woods, Stefania Rodriguez, and
- 27 Demetrius Yancey; and
- 28 WHEREAS, Orlando Lewis, Lowell Jones, Elbony Curney, Whitney Bush, Tyeisha
- 29 Anderson, and Felicia Brown earned Superior Performance Ribbons; and
- 30 WHEREAS, these magnificent cadets have demonstrated commitment and dedication to
- 31 JROTC and serve as exceptional role models for all students in the State of Georgia.
- 32 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 33 commend the members of the Morrow High School JROTC for outstanding achievements
- 34 and extend to them their sincerest best wishes for continued success in the future.
- 35 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 36 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Morrow High School and the members
- 37 of the Morrow High School JROTC.