House Resolution 236

By: Representatives Dawkins-Haigler of the 93rd, Smyre of the 132nd, Sinkfield of the 60th, Shipp of the 58th, Mitchell of the 88th, and others

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending Turner Theological Seminary; and for other purposes.

2 WHEREAS, the week of February 2, 2009, marks the occasion of Turner Theological

3 Seminary's 115th Founders Convocation; and

4 WHEREAS, the seminary was established in 1894 as a department of Morris Brown College

5 and became Turner Theological Seminary in 1900 in honor of Bishop Henry McNeal Turner;

6 and

WHEREAS, Bishop Turner served as resident bishop of the African Methodist Episcopal
Church and Turner Seminary, is a founding constituent of the Interdenominational
Theological Center, and was elected to the Georgia legislature in 1868; and

WHEREAS, currently, Turner Theological Seminary is an ecumenical graduate school
accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada and
the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools; and

13 WHEREAS, Bishop William Phillips DeVeaux currently serves as the Chairman of the14 Board for Turner Theological Seminary; and

WHEREAS, Reverend T. G. Steward, a former United States Army chaplain, served as the
first president of Turner Theological Seminary and Turner Theological Seminary has grown
and prospered under the leadership and guidance of its other deans: Dr. Josephus R. Coan;
Dr. Cecil W. Cone, I; Dr. George L. Champion; Dr. Clayton D. Wilkerson; Dr. Daniel W.
Jacobs, Sr.; and Dr. John F. Green; and

20 WHEREAS, the rich and magnificent history of Turner Theological Seminary and its 21 remarkable contributions and achievements to the State of Georgia are worthy of recognition.

- 22 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 23 the members of this body commend the great contributions of Turner Theological Seminary
- 24 to the field of education and congratulate students, faculty, and staff on the occasion of its
- 25 115th Founders Convocation.
- 26 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 27 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Turner Theological
- 28 Seminary's President and Dean, Dr. John F. Green.