09 LC 94 0283

Senate Resolution 147

By: Senators Grant of the 25th, Pearson of the 51st, Tate of the 38th, Seay of the 34th, Douglas of the 17th and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending all 4-H Clubs of Georgia and declaring February 9, 2009, as
- 2 4-H Day at the state capitol; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 4 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives of Georgia's youth; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mr. Joshua Akins serves with distinction and dedication as Georgia 4-H
- 6 President; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Dr. Roger "Bo" Ryles, of Cooperative Extension and Georgia 4-H Leader, has
- 8 worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Paul Rice of Hart County, Brock
- 10 Hufstetler of Bartow County, Charity Greene of Evans County, and Haley Gilleland of Ben
- Hill County as district presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in the
- 12 election of each of these young people to serve as president for 2008-09; and
- WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of John
- 14 Scott of Madison County, Abbey Hufstetler of Bartow County, Dantarius Wright of Bleckley
- 15 County, and Katie Thigpen of Charlton County were recognized in Washington, D.C., at the
- 16 2008 National 4-H Conference; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Joseph Stunzi of Clarke County and Kathryn Leigh Buford of Crisp County
- 18 were named 2008 Leadership in Action winners; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Zach Hall of Lowndes County, Andy Smith of Charlton County, Abbey
- 20 Hufstetler of Bartow County, Christine Odom of Oconee County, and Katie Comer of Carroll
- 21 County were named state winners in the 2008 Dean's Awards competition; and

09 LC 94 0283

22 WHEREAS, the Lowndes County Archery Team, composed of Garrett Hancock, Brent

- 23 Hritz, Jantz Jenkins, and Ethan Pickles, won the National Archery competition.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 25 recognize and commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and
- 26 Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Mr. Joshua Akins, Georgia 4-H President; Dr. Roger
- 27 "Bo" Ryles, Georgia 4-H Leader; and each of the 2008-09 4-H district presidents, 2008
- 28 Dean's Awards winners, 2008 National 4-H Conference delegates, 2008 Teen Leadership
- 29 winners, and the National Winning Lowndes County Archery Team for their numerous
- 30 accomplishments and for the leadership which they have demonstrated.
- 31 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that February 9, 2009, is declared 4-H Day at the state
- 32 capitol.
- 33 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 34 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the University of Georgia Cooperative
- 35 Extension.