## Senate Resolution 1638 By: Senators Ramsey, Sr. of the 43rd and Buckner of the 44th

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the principals of Narvie J. Harris Traditional Theme School;
- 2 and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the principals of Narvie J. Harris Traditional Theme School have helped lead
- 4 the school in becoming a standard bearer for education over the school's ten-year history; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Dr. Annette R. Waller, Dr. Monique Mabry, Mrs. Charlotte Creighton, and Dr.

6 Sean R. Tartt have collectively provided a decade of excellence in education and dedication

7 to the children they have served; and

8 WHEREAS, these dedicated DeKalb County School System administrators have led the 9 school to exceed the adequate yearly progress requirements in reading and mathematics in 10 all measured grade levels on the Criterion Referenced Competency Test for ten consecutive 11 years; and

WHEREAS, the four principals of Narvie J. Harris Traditional Theme School have helped students score well above the national average on the Iowa Test of Basic Skills for ten consecutive years; and

WHEREAS, by creating a safe, respectful, and nurturing learning environment, the four
principals of Narvie J. Harris Traditional Theme School have fostered and maintained high
community and school spirit; and

WHEREAS, the four chief learning officers have been successful in encouraging
involvement of 90-100 percent of parents in the Parent Teacher Association membership for
the last ten years; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Waller, Dr. Mabry, Mrs. Creighton, and Dr. Tartt had the vision to establish
and sustain involvement with the school by each student's parents, which has created a

- 23 crucial partnership between the home and the school that has helped both students and
- 24 families thrive.
- 25 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 26 commend the four principals of Narvie J. Harris Traditional Theme School, Dr. Annette R.
- 27 Waller, Dr. Monique Mabry, Mrs. Charlotte Creighton, and Dr. Sean R. Tartt, for their
- 28 dedication, leadership, and promotion of academic excellence.
- 29 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 30 to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to Dr. Annette R. Waller, Dr. Monique
- 31 Mabry, Mrs. Charlotte Creighton, and Dr. Sean R. Tartt.