10 LC 94 3270

Senate Resolution 1492

By: Senator Ramsey, Sr. of the 43rd

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the Columbia High School Eagles basketball team for
- 2 winning the 2010 Class AAA State Championship; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the Columbia High School Eagles basketball team earned their third state title
- 4 in five years with their victorious performance at the 2010 Class AAA State Championship;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, this amazing team finished their ultra-successful season ranked #24 in the
- 7 nation by USA Today; and
- 8 WHEREAS, through selfless effort, teamwork, and a strong determination, the Eagles have
- 9 proven they are a force to be reckoned with; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the phenomenal performance of the team is a clear indication of their
- 11 tremendous offensive and dynamic defensive talents and the excellent athletic ability, the
- dedication and hard work, and the unity of purpose and spirit of each member of the team;
- 13 and
- 14 WHEREAS, the team was led by the astute direction of Head Coach Dr. Phil McCrary;
- 15 Assistant Coaches Wallace Corker, Julian Houston, Mario Lemons, Clint McCrary, and
- 16 Fareed Rasheed; and Team Managers Constance McCrary and Cynthia Prather; and
- 17 WHEREAS, this all-star team included stellar athletes dedicated to bringing a state title home
- 18 to Columbia High School: Stephon Allen, JerShon Cobb, Jeffery Cooper, Christopher
- 19 Daniels, Javante Davenport, Tahj Sham-sid Deen, Christopher Grier, Christopher Horton,
- 20 Jordan Johnson, Lorenzo Jones, Jade McLendon, Samuel Mike, Stanthony Nelms, Jarmal
- 21 Reid, Jamil Saaka, Darnelious Sessions, and Pierre Tyson; and

10 LC 94 3270

22 WHEREAS, as this magnificent team earned its well-deserved reputation for excellence by

- 23 performing with courage and precision over months of training and competition, it is
- 24 abundantly proper to call them champions.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 26 congratulate the Columbia High School Eagles basketball team for winning the 2010 Class
- 27 AAA State Championship.
- 28 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 29 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the principal of Columbia High School,
- 30 Dr. Morcease Beasley.