10 LC 35 1848S

The Senate Urban Affairs Committee offered the following substitute to SR 1241:

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending the formation of the Fulton County Multi-Jurisdictional 2 Burglary Task Force and urging all cities in Fulton County to participate in this important 3 coalition; and for other purposes. 4 WHEREAS, all Georgians deserve neighborhoods that are free from crime and safe for their 5 families; and 6 WHEREAS, crime is an ever-increasing problem in Fulton County and throughout Georgia; 7 and 8 WHEREAS, there has been an increase in vacant homes in Fulton County due to mortgage 9 fraud and foreclosures, and burglaries of these homes are on the rise; and 10 WHEREAS, agencies and cities throughout Fulton County have committed to joining forces 11 in an effort to reduce burglaries and improve safety for Fulton County residents and visitors; 12 and 13 WHEREAS, decreasing burglaries in Fulton County will help increase property values during these difficult economic times; and 14 15 WHEREAS, the Cities of Atlanta, Sandy Springs, Johns Creek, and Alpharetta have joined with Fulton County's Sheriff's Department, District Attorney's Office, and Police Department 16 in a multi-jurisdictional task force against burglaries; and 17 WHEREAS, Fulton County District Attorney Paul Howard, Fulton County Sheriff Theodore 18 "Ted" Jackson, Fulton County Chief of Police Cassandra A. Jones, City of East Point Chief 19 of Police Leander J. Robinson, City of Atlanta Interim Chief of Police George N. Turner, 20

City of Sandy Springs Chief of Police Terry Sult, City of Johns Creek Chief of Police

21

10 LC 35 1848S

22 Ed Densmore, and City of Alpharetta Chief of Police Gary George are commended for their 23 leadership and commitment to reducing burglaries in Fulton County; and WHEREAS, the remaining cities of Fulton County are strongly encouraged to follow in the 24 25 footsteps of the Cities of Alpharetta, Atlanta, East Point, Johns Creek, and Sandy Springs in demonstrating a commitment to decrease crime by joining the Fulton County 26 Multi-Jurisdictional Burglary Task Force. 27 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body 28 commend the formation of the Fulton County Multi-Jurisdictional Burglary Task Force and 29 30 its participating agencies and cities and urge those cities that have not joined the task force to participate in this vital program. 31 32 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the Fulton County Multi-Jurisdictional 33 34 Burglary Task Force.