A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing February 18, 2010, as Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., Day at the state capitol;

2 and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., was founded at Howard University, on
November 17, 1911, by three students, Brother Oscar J. Cooper, M.D., Brother Frank
Coleman, Ph.D., Brother Edgar A. Love, D.D., and Brother Ernest E. Just, Ph.D., who served
as their faculty advisor; and

7 WHEREAS, on December 1, 1919, Raymond G. Robinson traveled to Atlanta, Georgia, at 8 his own expense, to help Brothers Harold Thomas, Horace A. Hodges, Harvey Smith, and 9 Lawrence R. Harper establish Eta Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., which was 10 composed of college graduated professional men and selected students from Morehouse 11 College, Atlanta University, Clark College, and Gammon Theological Seminary, as the first 12 chapter of any Black Greek lettered organization to be founded and chartered in the State of 13 Georgia and was renamed Eta Omega Chapter in 1923, "The Mother Pearl of the Seventh 14 District" of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.; and

15 WHEREAS, the Georgia State Organization was established in 1963. Since that time, 16 Georgia has established itself as a flagship state organization within the 7th District. This 17 state has been under the leadership of State Representatives Brother Robert Church (1963-1964, Fort Valley); Arthur Owens, Sr. (1965-1975, Atlanta); Lester B. Johnson, Sr. 18 (1976-1979, Savannah); David L. Brown, Sr. (1980-1982, Atlanta); Samuel D. Jolley, Jr. 19 (1983-1985, Macon); Alonza A. Bennett (1985-1987, Decatur); William "Buck" Crosby 20 21 (1987-1990, Brunswick); Joseph Gosha (1991-1992, Columbus); Elijah Hill (1993-1995, 22 Warner Robbins); Robert H. Carter (1995-1998, Decatur); Marion B. Williams (1998-2001, Marietta); Ronald J. Taylor (2001-2004, Macon); Wilbur Carver, Jr. (2004-2007, Albany); 23 24 and James Cistrunk (2007-present, Decatur); and

- 25 WHEREAS, the most senior Brothers of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., residing in the State
- 26 of Georgia, initiated 50 years ago or more, include Brothers Arthur Douglas (1935, Rho Psi);
- 27 Dosh Jackson, Sr. (1935, Psi); Harvey B. Smith (1942, Psi); C. Clayton Powell, Sr. (1945,
- 28 Psi); Tesse Hill (1945, Beta Psi); Thomas Wood, Jr. (1946, Rho Psi); Samuel Dubois-Cook
- 29 (1946, Psi); Borah Walton (1946, Beta Psi); Erskine Boazman (1947, Theta Psi); Fletcher
- 30 Combs (1947, Psi); Alfred Wyatt (1947, Beta Psi); Stanley Goseer (1947, Beta Psi); Eddie
- 31 Daniels (1949, Rho Psi); William Turner (1950, Xi Psi); Marion Porter (1950, Xi Psi);
- 32 George Canty (1950, Rho Psi); Bennie Lowe (1950, Beta Psi); Marion McMillan (1950, Xi
- 33 Psi); and Arthur Hall (1950, Chi Epsilon); and

34 WHEREAS, Georgia has produced two Grand Basili of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.,

- Harold Thomas and Moses C. Norman, and three First Vice Grand Basili, John Calhoun,
 Jesse O. Thomas, and Joe Brooks; and
- WHEREAS, there are Brothers of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., who serve in the Georgia
 legislature, including Brother Representative Carl Von Epps (1966, Psi); Brother
 Representative Joe Heckstall (1967, Kappa Epsilon); Brother Representative Winfred J.
 Dukes (1975, Gamma Zeta); Brother Representative Calvin Smyre (1980, Lambda Iota);
 Brother Representative Quincy Murphy (1976, Psi Omega); and Brother Representative
 Ernest Smith (1981, Epsilon Gamma Gamma); and
- WHEREAS, this historic event was presented by the Georgia State Leadership Council,
 chaired by State Representative James Cistrunk (1984, Eta); produced by the Georgia State
 Governmental Relations Committee, chaired by Brother Alonza Solomon (1975, Epsilon
 Psi); developed by the Georgia State Omega Day Committee, chaired by Brother H.
 Benjamin Williams (1962, Beta Gamma); and coordinated by Brother William S. Cannon V
 (1972, Eta Omega).
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
 recognize Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., and commend the cardinal principles of manhood,
 scholarship, perseverance, and uplift endorsed by its members and their exemplary public
 service.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Thursday, February 18, 2010, is recognized as Omega
 Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., Day at the state capitol.

- 55 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 56 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to State Representative James Cistrunk,
- 57 Seventh District Representative Keith Jackson, and Grand Basileus Warren Lee.