08 AM 25 1131

Senators Cowsert of the 46th, Hawkins of the 49th, Goggans of the 7th, Smith of the 52nd and Harp of the 29th offered the following amendment:

- 1 Amend the Senate Natural Resources and the Environment Committee substitute to HB 1226
- 2 by inserting after "requirements of plans;" on line 9 of page 1 the following:
- 3 to provide for water planning regions;
- 4 By inserting after Section 3-4 new sections to read as follows:
- 5 SECTION 3-5.
- 6 Said chapter is further amended by adding a new Code section to read as follows:
- 7 "12-5-522.1.
- 8 (a) For purposes of regional water planning under any state-wide water plan pursuant to
- 9 this article, there shall be 11 water planning regions as follows:
- 10 (1) Altamaha Region, consisting of Johnson, Emanuel, Candler, Bleckley, Laurens,
- 11 Treutlen, Wilcox, Dodge, Telfair, Wheeler, Montgomery, Toombs, Tattnall, Evans, Jeff
- Davis, Appling, and Wayne counties;
- 13 (2) Coastal Georgia Region, consisting of Bulloch, Effingham, Bryan, Chatham, Liberty,
- Long, McIntosh, Glynn, and Camden counties;
- 15 (3) Coosa-North Georgia Region, consisting of Dade, Walker, Catoosa, Whitfield,
- Murray, Gilmer, Fannin, Union, Towns, Chattooga, Gordon, Pickens, Dawson, Lumpkin,
- 17 White, Habersham, Floyd, Polk, and Haralson counties;
- 18 (4) Lower Flint-Ochlockonee Region, consisting of Terrell, Lee, Calhoun, Dougherty,
- Worth, Early, Baker, Mitchell, Colquitt, Miller, Seminole, Decatur, Grady, and Thomas
- 20 counties;
- 21 (5) Metropolitan North Georgia Region, consisting of Bartow, Cherokee, Forsyth, Hall,
- Paulding, Cobb, Fulton, Gwinnett, Douglas, DeKalb, Rockdale, Walton, Coweta, Fayette,
- Clayton, and Henry counties;
- 24 (6) Middle Chattahoochee Region, consisting of Carroll, Heard, Troup, Harris,
- 25 Muscogee, Chattahoochee, Stewart, Quitman, Randolph, and Clay counties;
- 26 (7) Middle Ocmulgee Region, consisting of Newton, Butts, Jasper, Lamar, Monroe,
- Jones, Crawford, Bibb, Twiggs, Peach, Houston, and Pulaski counties;
- 28 (8) Savannah-Upper Ogeechee Region, consisting of Rabun, Stephens, Banks, Franklin,
- 29 Hart, Madison, Elbert, Oglethorpe, Wilkes, Lincoln, Taliaferro, Warren, McDuffie,
- Columbia, Glascock, Jefferson, Richmond, Burke, Jenkins, and Screven counties;

08 AM 25 1131

(9) Suwannee-Satilla Region, consisting of Turner, Ben Hill, Coffee, Bacon, Pierce, Brantley, Tift, Irwin, Atkinson, Ware, Cook, Berrien, Lanier, Clinch, Charlton, Brooks, Lowndes, and Echols counties;

- (10) Upper Flint Region, consisting of Meriwether, Spalding, Pike, Talbot, Upson, Taylor, Marion, Schley, Macon, Webster, Sumter, Dooly, and Crisp counties; and
- (11) Upper Oconee Region, consisting of Barrow, Jackson, Clarke, Oconee, Morgan, Greene, Putnam, Hancock, Baldwin, Washington, and Wilkinson counties.
- (b) The director shall specify a period during which counties at the border of any water planning region may petition for reassignment to a contiguous water planning region. The director shall provide guidelines regarding petitions for changes in water planning regions, including criteria for evaluation of requested changes. The final delineation of water planning regions shall be made according to the criteria specified in the guidelines through consultation between the director and the commissioner of community affairs.
- (c) The provisions of any state-wide water plan pursuant to this article shall apply to the Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District, consistent with Article 10 of this chapter. Water planning for those counties that are part of the Metropolitan North Georgia Region shall continue as part of the district's planning processes under Article 10 of this chapter, following guidelines consistent with those provided for preparation of regional water development and conservation plans."

SECTION 3-6.

Said chapter is further amended by revising paragraph (4) of Code Section 12-5-573, relating to definitions relative to the Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District, as follows:

"(4) 'District area' means any county which has a population of 500,000 or more according to the 2000 United States decennial census or any future such census and all counties geographically contiguous to any such county; provided, however, that any such contiguous county having population of 100,000 or less according to the 2000 United States decennial census or any future such census may, by majority vote of the governing authority thereof and with the written approval of the director, remove itself from the district area. The district area may be expanded from time to time as provided in this article the Metropolitan North Georgia Region as provided by Code Section 12-5-522.1."