Senate Bill 515

By: Senator Bulloch of the 11th

**AS PASSED** 

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

- 1 To amend Chapter 4 of Title 2 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to the
- 2 Georgia Seed Development Commission, so as to change certain provisions relating to the
- 3 Georgia Seed Development Commission and its composition, officers, bylaws, quorum,
- 4 compensation, records, audits, and bonds; to change certain provisions relating to the
- 5 creation of an advisory board and its members and functions; to change certain provisions
- 6 relating to terms of office; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.

## BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:

0	SECTION 1.
0	SECTION I.

- 9 Chapter 4 of Title 2 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to the Georgia Seed
- 10 Development Commission, is amended by revising Code Section 2-4-3, relating to the
- 11 Georgia Seed Development Commission and its composition, officers, bylaws, quorum,
- 12 compensation, records, audits, and bonds, as follows:
- 13 "2-4-3.

7

- 14 (a) The commission shall be composed of the following ten 11 members:
- 15 (1) The Lieutenant Governor;
- 16 (2) The Commissioner of Agriculture;
- 17 (3) An appointee of the Governor who is not the Attorney General;
- 18 (4) The dean and coordinator of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- 19 of the University of Georgia;
- 20 (5) The director of experiment stations of the College of Agricultural and Environmental
- 21 Sciences of the University of Georgia;
- 22 (6) The president of Foundation Seeds, Incorporated; and
- 23 (7) Four members who are farmers, to be appointed as follows:
- 24 (A) One member to be appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture;
- 25 (B) One member to be appointed by the Georgia Farm Bureau Federation;
- 26 (C) One member to be appointed by the Georgia Seedmen's Association; and

- 1 (D) One member to be appointed by Foundation Seeds, Incorporated.
- 2 (1) Two members to be appointed by the Governor, each of whom shall be a farmer who
- 3 grows crops or turf;
- 4 (2) One member who shall be a farmer who grows crops or turf, to be appointed by the
- 5 <u>Lieutenant Governor</u>;
- 6 (3) One member who shall be a farmer who grows crops or turf, to be appointed by the
- 7 Speaker of the House of Representatives;
- 8 (4) The Commissioner of Agriculture;
- 9 (5) Two representatives of the seed or turf industries or farm related organizations, one
- of whom shall be appointed by the Senate Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee,
- and one of whom shall be appointed by the House Committee on Agriculture and
- 12 <u>Consumer Affairs. Each committee shall make its appointment with a quorum present</u>
- and a majority of those present concurring;
- 14 (6) One member who shall be a farmer who grows crops or turf, to be appointed by the
- 15 <u>Commissioner of Agriculture;</u>
- 16 (7) The dean of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences of the
- 17 <u>University of Georgia;</u>
- 18 (8) A seed breeder employed by the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- of the University of Georgia, to be appointed by the dean of the College of Agricultural
- and Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia; and
- 21 (9) The associate dean for research of the College of Agricultural and Environmental
- 22 <u>Sciences of the University of Georgia.</u>
- 23 (b) The members of the commission shall enter upon their duties without further act or
- formality. The commission shall <u>organize each even-numbered year at the meeting next</u>
- 25 <u>following July 1 of such year, at which time the commission shall</u> elect one of its members
- 26 as <del>chairman</del> <u>chairperson</u> and another as <del>vice-chairman</del> <u>vice chairperson</u>. It shall also elect
- a secretary and a treasurer, who need not be members. The offices of secretary and
- treasurer may be combined in one person. The commission may make such bylaws for its
- 29 government as deemed it deems necessary but is under no duty to do so.
- 30 (c) Six members of the commission shall constitute a quorum necessary for the transaction
- of business, and a majority vote of those present at any meeting at which there is a quorum
- shall be sufficient to do and perform any action permitted the commission by this chapter.
- No vacancy on the commission shall impair the right of a quorum to transact any and all
- 34 business of the commission.
- 35 (d) The members shall not receive compensation for their services but shall be reimbursed
- 36 for actual expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.

1 (e) Members of the commission shall be accountable as trustees. They shall cause 2 adequate books and records of all transactions of the commission, including records of 3 income and disbursements of every nature, to be kept. The books and records shall be 4 inspected and audited by the state auditor at least once in each year. The commission may 5 require that an employee, an officer, member of the commission, or any person doing 6 business with the commission post a bond, in an amount to be determined by the 7 commission, for the faithful performance of the duties imposed upon such employee, 8 officer, member of the commission, or person doing business with the commission. The

9 principal of such bond of an officer, employee, or member of the commission shall be paid

10 by the commission."

11 SECTION 2.

- 12 Said chapter is further amended by revising Code Section 2-4-7, relating to the creation of
- 13 an advisory board and its members and functions, as follows:
- 14 "2-4-7.
- 15 (a) There is created The commission may appoint an advisory board, consisting of such
- number and qualifications of members as the commission may determine, to advise and
- consult with the commission in the performance of its the commission's duties. The
- 18 advisory board shall consist of the following 13 members:
- 19 (1) The Commissioner of Agriculture;
- 20 (2) The dean and coordinator of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- 21 of the University of Georgia;
- 22 (3) The director of the experiment stations of the College of Agricultural and
- 23 Environmental Sciences of the University of Georgia;
- 24 (4) The director of the Cooperative Extension Service;
- 25 (5) The president of the Georgia Crop Improvement Association, Inc.;
- 26 (6) The president of the Georgia Seedmen's Association;
- 27 (7) The president of the Georgia Farm Bureau Federation;
- 28 (8) The chairman of the Agriculture Committee of the Senate or some person designated
- 29 by him;
- 30 (9) The chairman of the Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee of the House of
- Representatives or some person designated by him; and
- 32 (10) Four members who are farmers, to be appointed as follows:
- 33 (A) One member to be appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture;
- 34 (B) One member to be appointed by the Georgia Farm Bureau Federation;
- 35 (C) One member to be appointed by the Georgia Seedmen's Association; and
- 36 (D) One member to be appointed by Foundation Seeds, Incorporated.

1 (b) The function of the <u>such a</u> board shall be advisory only."

- 2 SECTION 3.
- 3 Said chapter is further amended by revising Code Section 2-4-8, relating to terms of office,
- 4 as follows:
- 5 "2-4-8.
- 6 The appointive members of the commission shall serve for terms of two years each
- 7 <u>commencing on July 1 of each even-numbered year;</u> and the appointive members of the
- 8 advisory board, if any, shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing officer or entity
- 9 <u>commission</u>."

10 SECTION 4.

11 All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.