## Senate Resolution 1186

By: Senators Johnson of the 1st, Williams of the 19th, Brown of the 26th, Moody of the 56th, Golden of the 8th and others

## A RESOLUTION

1 Commending the Senate interns for the 2008 regular session; and for other purposes.

2 WHEREAS, the Georgia Legislative Internship Program was founded in 1969 and is one of

3 the nation's oldest educational internships to focus on the state legislative process; and

WHEREAS, the internship program is a cooperative venture between the Georgia General
Assembly and many of the four-year public and private colleges and universities in Georgia,
and it provides a select group of students an in-depth exposure to the House of
Representatives and the Senate by assigning them to assist key standing committees and
legislative leaders; and

9 WHEREAS, the 20 students who were selected to participate in the Senate intern program
10 represent some of the best and the brightest college students in our state who share a genuine
11 interest in the lawmaking process and a potential commitment to public service; and

12 WHEREAS, the unique experience of participating in the legislative internship program has

13 undoubtedly enriched the academic study these college students have completed; and

WHEREAS, the members of the standing committees and legislative leaders who benefited from the service of these interns commend their coordinators, Dr. Bill Thomas and Dr. Rich Engstrom of Georgia State University and Stacy Peery, and salute each of these students on a job well done: Nana Acheampong, Katie Base, Gloria Carlisle, Erica Cordova, Tommy Culligan, Nick DeJong, Stephen Floyd, Matt Grattan, Kate Hamilton, Nik Hanlon, Travis Horsley, Jessica Kersten, David Leblang, Eugene Marks, Lee Merritt, Lauren Moore, Emily Norris, Daniel Seibel, Christy Smith, and Lauren Wildschut.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that this body commends the
Senate interns for the 2008 regular session on their superb performance and conveys its best
wishes to each of them for success and happiness in the future.

- 1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 2 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Dr. Bill Thomas, Dr. Rich Engstrom,
- 3 Stacy Peery, Nana Acheampong, Katie Base, Gloria Carlisle, Erica Cordova, Tommy
- 4 Culligan, Nick DeJong, Stephen Floyd, Matt Grattan, Kate Hamilton, Nik Hanlon, Travis
- 5 Horsley, Jessica Kersten, David Leblang, Eugene Marks, Lee Merritt, Lauren Moore, Emily
- 6 Norris, Daniel Seibel, Christy Smith, and Lauren Wildschut.