House Resolution 1657 By: Representative Hembree of the 67th

A RESOLUTION

1 Commending Chestnut Log Middle School; and for other purposes.

- 2 WHEREAS, Chestnut Log Middle School won the Middle School division of the state-wide
- 3 Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl competition for the second year in a row; and
- 4 WHEREAS, several years ago Helen Ruffin, a dynamic and innovative library media 5 specialist in the DeKalb County school system, created the unique reading competition to 6 encourage students to read the Georgia Book Awards nominees list of books; and
- WHEREAS, this year is the ninth annual county-wide competition for the Georgia Helen
 Ruffin Reading Bowl which is open to students in grades four through twelve across the
 state; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Chestnut Log Middle School winning team members are Courtney Jackson,
- 11 Hannah Drosky, Andrew Hater, Jordan Raley, Rashard Leonard, Seth Blair, Zach Fowler,
- 12 Isaac Carter, and Gavin Finch; and
- WHEREAS, these dedicated students and their teachers committed innumerable days and
 months in preparation for this unique and challenging competition, and it is most fitting this
 body recognize the Chestnut Log Middle School state-wide Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl
 Competition champions.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
 the members of this body heartily congratulate the Chestnut Log Middle School Helen Ruffin
 Reading Bowl champions and wish them continued success in their educational and personal
 endeavors.

- 1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 2 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the Chestnut Log Middle
- 3 School Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl Competition team.