08 LC 95 0384

Senate Resolution 1002

By: Senators Hamrick of the 30th, Heath of the 31st, Seabaugh of the 28th and Thomas of the 54th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the University of West Georgia Cheerleading Teams; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, as the West Georgia Cheerleading Teams prepared for the 2008 nationals, many
- 3 wondered if the university's program could match its extraordinary past achievements; and
- 4 WHEREAS, at the 2008 nationals, West Georgia not only equaled its previous successes, but
- 5 the Wolves' program exceeded all expectations by bringing home two national titles
- 6 establishing itself as a national powerhouse to be reckoned with; and
- 7 WHEREAS, under the direction of coaches Scott Brown and John Morgan, the coed cheer
- 8 squad established its reputation and place as a national dynasty by winning its seventh
- 9 straight UCA Division II Championship as the Wolves' squad out-hustled and outshone an
- 10 impressive crop of competitors in the competition finals; and
- WHEREAS, West Georgia's championship in the coed competition was not the program's
- 12 first victory of the weekend as a gifted young West Georgia all-girl team captured its fourth
- 13 national title in the event; and
- 14 WHEREAS, coed squad team members are Mr. Cory Brown, Ms. Gennal Duclo, Mr.
- 15 Tommy Lane, Ms. Sarah Masters, Ms. Brittany Moss, Mr. Brian Nichols, Ms. Sarah
- 16 Roberts, Ms. Stephanie Shouse, Ms. Christie Shouse, Mr. John Tuggle, Mr. Carlos Colon,
- 17 Mr. Patrick Warren, Ms. Taylor Southerland, Mr. Cody Sellars, and Mr. Jeremy Federick;
- 18 and
- 19 WHEREAS, the all-girl squad under the direction of Coach Ryan McKinnon consists of Ms.
- 20 Erica Baldwin, Ms. Lindsay Evanson, Ms. Ashley Hardin, Ms. Amy Phillips, Ms. Kristi
- 21 Phillips, Ms. Peggy "Amanda" Reeves, Ms. Megan Sparks, Ms. Samantha Stevenson, Ms.
- 22 Ashley Stone, Ms. Amy Wood, Ms. Ashley Zimmerman, Ms. Kelsey Jones, Ms. Brandy
- 23 Muse, Ms. Kaci Eady, Ms. Heidi Lilley, Ms. Brittany Barr, Ms. Elyse Kenderick, Ms.

08 LC 95 0384

1 Seniqua Wilburn, Ms. Katie McMahan, and Ms. Danielle Baggerley, and all members of

- 2 each outstanding team displayed a level of competitive spirit that has rarely been equaled.
- 3 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 4 commend the University of West Georgia Cheerleading Teams on their dominating win of
- 5 the Division II All-Girl Cheerleading Competition and Coed Cheerleading Competition.
- 6 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 7 to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to the University of West Georgia
- 8 cheerleading teams and their coaches.