By: Senators Carter of the 13th and Heath of the 31st

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the 4-H Clubs of Georgia and recognizing Monday, February 11, 2008, as "4-H
- 2 Day at the Capitol"; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 4 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 5 Georgia; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Ms. Katie Comer and Mr. Trey Smagur serve with distinction and dedication
- 7 as state 4-H president and state 4-H vice president, respectively; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles of Cooperative Extension and state 4-H leader/director
 9 of 4-H has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Joshua Akins of Monroe County,
- 11 Franklin Duke of Henry County, Chelsea Sawyer of Bleckley County, and Margo Braski of
- 12 Houston County as district presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in
- 13 their election of each of these young people to serve as president for 2007-2008; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of April
- 15 McDaniel of Burke County, Tareva Moore of Worth County, Austin Suggs of Tift County,
- 16 and Laura Warren of Mitchell County were recognized in Washington, D.C., at the 2007
- 17 National 4-H Conference; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Zach Hall of Lowndes County and Chet Sconyers of Emanuel County were19 named 2007 Leadership in Action Winners; and
- 20 WHEREAS, April Ford of Fayette County, Athena Lao of Clarke County, April McDaniel
- 21 of Burke County, Phillip Nowicki of Heard County, and Rico Turner of Emanuel County
- 22 were named state winners in the 2007 Dean's Awards competition; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Monday, February 11, 2008, is "4-H Day at the Capitol."
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
 recognize and commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and
 Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Ms. Katie Comer, state 4-H Club president; Mr. Trey
 Smagur, state 4-H Club vice president; Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, state 4-H leader/director of
 4-H; and each of the 2007-2008 4-H district presidents, 2007 Dean's Awards winners, 2007
 National 4-H Conference delegates, and 2007 Leadership in Action winners for their
 numerous accomplishments and for the leadership which they have demonstrated.
- 9 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 10 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the University of Georgia Cooperative
- 11 Extension.