08 LC 38 0559

House Resolution 1171

By: Representatives Parrish of the 156th, Lord of the 142nd, and Morris of the 155th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Congratulating the Emanuel County Institute Bulldogs for their 2007 Class A Georgia High
- 2 School Association State Championship and inviting them to appear before the House of
- 3 Representatives; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, for the Emanuel County Institute Bulldogs, 2007 was a dream season that will
- 5 forever live on in ECI lore; and
- 6 WHEREAS, a week after defeating Clinch County in the Georgia Dome in workmanlike
- 7 fashion, the Bulldogs traveled to Cordele to play the Wilcox County Patriots for the Class A
- 8 Georgia High School Association State Championship; and
- 9 WHEREAS, before a crowd of nearly 10,000 fans, the Bulldogs continued their season-long
- 10 pattern of dominance by besting the Patriots 41-21; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Emanuel County's victory over Wilcox County secured them their first state
- 12 championship and capped off a perfect season of 15-0; and
- 13 WHEREAS, the Bulldogs' success in 2007 began with Head Coach Milan Turner and his
- staff, Chad Simmons, Chris Kearson, Bill Bonds, Ron Flott, Dewayne Tabor, Chad Harper,
- 15 Brooks Collins, Artie Fields, and Sean Patrick; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the Bulldogs seniors, LaCollie Gordon, Dontae Richards, Wes Wammock, Pat
- 17 Branch, Valentay Williams, Nikk Cross, Sanguez Lee, Anson Walden, Vinson Andrews, and
- 18 Chad Turner, were team leaders both on and off the field and instrumental to Emanuel
- 19 County's perfect season; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the rest of the Bulldogs team were made up of juniors Arkeem Tarver, Washaun
- 21 Ealey, Dexter Moody, Remond Sanford, Mark Flott, J.C. Lanier, and Cody Todd;
- 22 sophomores Chris Shephard, Brooks Kirkland, Michael Robertson, Will Hinson, Chris

08 LC 38 0559

1 Branch, Corey Ellison, Robert Newkirt, Chris Gordon, Clifford Milton, Dakota Edenfield,

- 2 Jeremy Reid, Nathan Turner, and Logan Oglesby; and freshmen Chris Lovett, Randall
- 3 Carlyle, Brandon Hughes, Devon McCullough, Tyrone Johnson, Matt McReynolds, Wesley
- 4 Jordan, Dylan Turner, Tyler Bates, Chad Howell, Cody Burnett, Justin Moxley, Richard
- 5 Sapp, Ben Brown, Matthew Bates, and Jerry Stokes; and
- 6 WHEREAS, while the 2007 season was a product of a complete team effort, the seasons of
- 7 two juniors, Washaun Ealey, who rushed for 2,982 yards and 58 touchdowns (breaking the
- 8 state record for rushing touchdowns) and was named the Atlanta Journal Constitution's All
- 9 Class High School Football Player of the Year, and Dexter Moody, 79 tackles, ten sacks, and
- 10 eight touchdowns receiving and punt returning, should be recognized for their contribution
- 11 to the Bulldogs' success; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Ealey and Moody recently capped off a their special season by verbally
- committing to University of Georgia's 2009 recruiting class, where they will continue to be
- 14 Bulldogs and carry on the hallowed tradition of great running backs and defensive players
- 15 to play between the hedges.
- 16 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 17 the members of this body congratulate the Emanuel County Institute Bulldogs for capping
- off their historic 2007, 15-0 season with their first Georgia High School Association Class A
- 19 State Championship and invite them to appear before this body on a date and time designated
- 20 by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
- 21 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Emanuel County Institute.