08 LC 21 9676

Senate Resolution 791

By: Senators Harbison of the 15th and Harp of the 29th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Congratulating the G.W. Carver High School football team on winning the 2007 Class AAA
- 2 State Championship; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, through perseverance and iron determination, the G.W. Carver High School
- 4 football team clinched its first football state championship in the school's history, defeating
- 5 Cairo 16-13 before an estimated crowd of 8,000; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the team finished its season unbeaten with a 15-0 record; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the phenomenal performance of the team is a clear indication of the outstanding
- 8 athletic ability, the dedication and hard work, and the unity of purpose and spirit of each
- 9 member of the team; their superb offensive and defensive talents; and the astute direction of
- 10 Head Coach Dell McGee; and
- 11 WHEREAS, as this magnificent team earned its well-deserved reputation for excellence by
- 12 performing with courage and precision over months of training and competition, it is
- 13 abundantly proper to call them champions; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the following players, coaches, and managers are all worthy of congratulations

Players:

15 for their contributions to the team:

16

Players:

	•	•
17	Jarmon Fortson	Ray Gardener
18	Deandre Smith	Malcolm Booker
19	Emilio Johnson	Antonio Carter
20	Devin Lewis	Tavius Watts
21	Bruno Ryles	Isaiah Crowell
22	Patrick Pearson	Jeremy Foxx
23	Bill Alexander	Deron Furr
24	Edward Carter	Adonis Pernell
25	Marcus Ellison	Byron Key
26	Jarvis Jones	Delmarcus Green

08 LC 21 9676

DeOuan Menzie Devonne Stewart 2 **Brandon Sanders** Deonte Newman 3 Malcolm Chinn Tavarus Talley 4 Nathan Gates Jodeci Smith Antonio Snead Dmomte Aursby 6 **Quintavious Harrow** Delonno Carroll 7 Jarkuis Morgan Reginald Roscoe 8 Jeremiah Pitts Arbri Baker 9 **Travious Baskin David Beasley** 10 Mike Hollis **Blake Short** 11 Cory Crawford Tarron McGee 12 Joshua Chian Michael Thomas 13 Leron Furr Quentin Kimbrough Anthony Wright 14 Robert Rockeymoore 15 **Darius Lamar** Darvis Upshaw **Darius Mills** 16 Antwan Garvin Oscar Hubbard Chris Hubbard 17 Javonta Harris Sanford Banks 18 19 **Justin Jones** Jamal Snell 20 **Edward Pritchett** Clarence France 21 Jervelous Drisdom Tim Wright 22 Alex Williams **Cortney Scott** 23 Joshua McCoy Mykel Mckvian **Arlington Cozart** Raheem Bennison 24 25 Carlos Ross Gabriel Wright William Mabry Marquez Hussey 26 Demarcus Johnson Darius Howard 27 28 **Davone Morris Justin Gennings** 29 Marquice Robinson Lajareus York 30 Carmen Buckner Andre Stutson 31 Jonathan Martin **Dexter Washington** 32 **Andrew Sellers** Oscar Miles 33 Joe Burton Justin Brown 34 Cedaris Shorter Luke Decuir 35 Tori Mobley Adrian Chester 36 **Dameion Turner** Michael Golson 37 **Trey Simpson** Tsgaris Rutledge 38 Vincent Watt Anthony Rodriguez 39 Derryl Rozier 40 Coaches: Managers: **Kevin Orck** 41 Raven Cain

42 **Donald Johnson** Chania Hightower 43 **Donnie Jones** Nikel Turner 44 Richard Reese Patrice Chester 45 Joe Kegler Caprecia Miry 46 Eric Turner Rikira Brown 47 Olten Downs Keaire Shepard 48 Delray Stephens Tamara Spann 49 Jerry Dukes 50 Deitrich Wadley

51

John Jones

S. R. 791

08 LC 21 9676

1 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body

- 2 congratulate the G.W. Carver High School football team for winning the 2007 Class AAA
- 3 State Championship and extend their sincerest best wishes for future success.
- 4 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 5 to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to the players, managers, and coaches of the
- 6 G.W. Carver High School football team.