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ADOPTED SENATE

Senators Seabaugh of the 28th, Johnson of the 1st, Williams of the 19th, Rogers of the 21st

and Harp of the 29th offered the following amendment:

Amend HB 369 (LC 29 2919S) by inserting after "cross-reference;" on line 12 of page 1 the1

following: to amend Chapter 5 of Title 19 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating2

to divorce, so as to require certain divorcing parents to participate in education classes that3

focus on the effect of divorce and separation on children; to provide for who can provide the4

education and exceptions to the education classes; to change provisions relating to the time5

limit for granting certain divorces;6

By inserting between lines 20 and 21 on page 18 the following:7

SECTION 7.8

Chapter 5 of Title 19 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to divorce, is9

amended by striking subsection (a) of Code Section 19-5-1, relating to granting total divorces10

and referral for alternative dispute resolution, and inserting in lieu thereof the following:11

"(a)  Total divorces may be granted in proper cases by the superior court; provided,12

however, that the parties shall comply with Code Section 19-5-1.1 if it is applicable. Unless13

an issuable defense is filed as provided by law and a jury trial is demanded in writing by14

either party on or before the call of the case for trial, in all petitions for divorce and15

permanent alimony the judge shall hear and determine all issues of law and of fact and any16

other issues raised in the pleadings."17

SECTION 8.18

Said chapter is further amended by inserting a new Code section to read as follows:19

"19-5-1.1.20

(a)(1)  Except as otherwise provided in subsection (c) of this Code section, in proceedings21

pursuant to this chapter in which there are dependent children of the marriage who are22

younger than 18 years of age or in which the wife is pregnant, the court shall order the23

parties seeking legal separation or divorce to participate in education classes of their24

choice, focusing substantially on the potential impact of separation or divorce on25

children.26

(2)  The parties shall commence such education classes within 30 days after the filing of27

the answer to the petition for legal separation or divorce.28

(3)  The education classes shall be provided to parties in each judicial circuit by one or29

more of the following:30
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(A)  A marriage and family therapist, social worker, or professional counselor licensed1

pursuant to Chapter 10A of Title 43 or psychologist licensed pursuant to Chapter 39 of2

Title 43;3

(B)  An unlicenced therapist acting under the supervision of a licensed marriage and4

family therapist, licensed psychologist, licensed social worker, or licensed professional5

counselor;6

(C)  A qualified member of the clergy; or7

(D)  A qualified person acting under the supervision of a member of the clergy.8

(4)  Persons providing the education classes may use the curriculum developed by the9

Georgia Board of Professional Counselors, Social Workers, and Marriage and Family10

Therapists or such other curriculum that focuses specially on the impact of legal11

separation and divorce on children.12

(5)  The education classes shall commence within 30 days after the filing of the answer13

to the petition for legal separation or divorce and shall consist of a minium total of four14

hours after the filing of the answer to the petition, unless the parties reconcile prior to15

completion of the education classes. Counseling in which the parties have participated16

at any time within six months prior to the filing of the answer to the petition shall also17

count toward the hourly requirements set forth in this paragraph, if such counseling18

focused substantially on the potential impact on children of separation or divorce. The19

parties may elect to participate in the education classes together or separately. Whether20

the parties participate in the education classes together or separately, each party shall21

participate for a total of four hours.22

(6)  After a party has successfully completed the education classes, the person providing23

the education classes shall provide the participating party with a certificate of completion24

or a letter of verification or some other written documentation indicating successful25

completion of the education classes. The person providing education classes shall also26

provide to the party a list of resources for mental health counseling, marital counseling,27

child counseling, and other support services that may be available in the community to28

the party and the party´s children.29

(7)  The court shall either provide payment for indigent parties to complete the education30

classes required by this Code section or shall waive such requirement.31

(b)  The parties may elect to attend the education classes together unless one of the32

following circumstances exist:33

(1)  A protective order has been issued against one of the parties pursuant to Article 1 of34

Chapter 13 of this title;35

(2)  There have been allegations of violence within the marriage; or36

(3)  One of the parties prefers to attend the education class without his or her spouse.37
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(c)  The court shall not require the education classes prescribed in subsection (a) of this1

Code section if:2

(1)  Service of process was satisfied by publication and the whereabouts of one of the3

parties cannot be determined;4

(2)  One of the parties to the marriage at the time of the action is serving a sentence in the5

Department of Corrections;6

(3)  The youngest child of the parties is within six months of his or her eighteenth7

birthday;8

(4)  One of the parties to the proceeding does not live in this state; or9

(5)  The parties have been living separate and apart for more than five years.10

(d)  If the petition for legal separation or divorce is not dismissed, the costs, if any,11

associated with the education classes required by subsection (a) of this Code section shall12

be paid by the participating parties in accordance with each party´s ability to pay, as the13

court deems appropriate."14

SECTION 9.15

Said chapter is further amended by striking paragraph (13) of Code Section 19-5-3, relating16

to grounds for divorce, and inserting in lieu thereof the following:17

"(13)  The marriage is irretrievably broken. Under no circumstances shall the court grant18

a divorce on this ground until not less than 30 days from the date of service on the19

respondent and as further provided in Code Section 19-5-3.1." 20

SECTION 10.21

Said chapter is further amended by inserting a new Code section to follow Code Section22

19-5-3, relating to grounds for divorce, to read as follows:23

"19-5-3.1.24

(a)  Except as provided in subsection (b) of this Code section, a court shall grant a divorce25

only after 120 days from the date of service on the respondent where the parties have26

children who are younger than 18 years of age.27

(b)  The waiting periods provided by this Code section shall be waived where either party28

has obtained a protective order pursuant to Article 1 of Chapter 13 of this title or where29

either party submits a confidential affidavit to the court for in camera inspection, a verified30

petition, a verified answer, or a verified responsive pleading, which alleges specific facts31

establishing probable cause that family violence as defined by Code Section 19-13-1 has32

occurred in the past."33

By renumbering Sections 7 and 8 as Sections 11 and 12, respectively.34


