A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending the LaFayette High School wrestling team 2007 AA State

2 Tournament Wrestling Champions; and for other purposes.

- WHEREAS, the LaFayette High School wrestling team has proven itself to be one of the
 great wrestling programs in Georgia as their season accomplishments include 2007 Area
 Dual Champions, 2007 AA State Duals Runner-Ups, 2007 Area Tournament Champions, and
- 6 2007 AA State Tournament Champions; and

WHEREAS, the hard work, determination, and competitive spirit of these exceptional
athletes contributed to the success of the LaFayette High School wrestling team, significantly
influenced their personal development, and offered them memories they will cherish for a
lifetime; and

WHEREAS, all of these team players have benefited greatly from the expert training,
dedication, and encouragement provided by the amazing coaching staff of Coach Sam

13 Forester, Lee Dendy, and Will Dendy; and

WHEREAS, seniors Wade Gilbert, 2nd region and state runner-up; Chris Groce; Billy Bob Jackson; Chat Jennings, 2nd region; Clay Lee, region champ, 3rd state; Isaac Smith, 3rd region; Ian Stephens, region champ, state champion; and Will Weldon, region champ, state runner-up have had a phenomenal record including among their many victories being named the 2004 State Duals Champions and the 2007 State Tournament Champions; and

WHEREAS, other members of this outstanding team are junior Tyler Smith, 2nd region, 4th
state; sophomores Cain Battles; Aaron Burnette; Joe Franks, 3rd region; Will Gilbert, 2nd
region, 6th state; Justin Gilbreath, 2nd region, 4th state; Caleb Hartshorn, 5th region; Casey
Hill; Zimbe Kimbugwe; Chad Little; Tyler Nix; Dustin Peek; Steven Simpson; Derek
Thompson, 2nd region; Cody West; and freshmen Justin Devine; Blake Dewey; Ky Hart,

07

- 1 region champ and 4th state; Sam Narmore; Josh Queen; Jesse Rape; Seth Taylor; Kody
- 2 Wallace; and Brandon Wallin, 3rd region, 6th state; and
- WHEREAS, this talented and well-coached wrestling team has displayed the qualities of
 hard work, discipline, and a commitment to excellence throughout this season, and the
 LaFayette community as well as the State of Georgia take great pride in the accomplishments
 of these fine young champions.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
 join in commending the members of the LaFayette High School wrestling team, winners of
 the 2007 AA State Tournament Wrestling Championship, and extend their best wishes for
 the team's continued success.
- 11 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 12 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the LaFayette High School Wrestling
- 13 team and Coaches Sam Forester, Lee Dendy, and Will Dendy.