07 LC 96 2649

House Resolution 822

By: Representatives Keen of the 179th, Lane of the 167th, and Hill of the 180th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the Glynn County Public Schools Golden Rule Award Winners 2006-2007 for
- 2 Burroughs-Molette Elementary School; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the Glynn County Public Schools Golden Rule Character Awards Program was
- 4 implemented during the 1999-2000 school year in accordance with the state character
- 5 education requirement; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the program is founded on the guiding philosophy, "Do unto others as you
- 7 would have them do unto you," and a sincere belief that if children understand this motto,
- 8 they would make every effort to avoid hurting others, given the realization that in hurting
- 9 others they would be bringing hurt upon themselves; and
- 10 WHEREAS, students, teachers, and staff members at each school are encouraged to place
- 11 their nominations in ballot boxes for students whose behavior consistently demonstrates the
- 12 values expressed by the Golden Rule Character Awards Program, and a Golden Rule
- 13 Selection Committee, composed of school staff and student representatives, determines the
- 14 monthly winners; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the Golden Rule Character Awards Program is funded primarily by the
- 16 Katz-Ray and Helen Whittle, Jr. Memorial Foundation, a nonprofit organization established
- 17 by Helen Whittle Katz as a memorial to four deceased family members: her children, Helen
- and Ray, Jr., and husbands Ray Whittle and Morris Katz; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the following outstanding Burroughs-Molette Elementary School students have
- 20 been chosen as the recipients of the 2006-2007 Glynn County Public Schools Golden Rule
- 21 Award: Lizeth Martinez, Diamon Mitchell, Damien Baker, Judith Garcia, Caitlin Smith, and
- 22 James Kirksey; and

07 LC 96 2649

1 WHEREAS, they have exemplified the virtues of honesty, compassion, and citizenship, and

- 2 these students have brought honor to their school, their families, and the State of Georgia.
- 3 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 4 the members of this body commend the Glynn County Public Schools Golden Rule Award
- 5 Winners 2006-2007 for Burroughs-Molette Elementary School and extend to them their
- 6 sincerest best wishes for the future.
- 7 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 8 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Burroughs-Molette
- 9 Elementary School and to each student named herein.