07 LC 96 2691

House Resolution 780

By: Representative Lane of the 167th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the McIntosh County Public Schools Golden Rule Award Winners 2006-2007;
- 2 and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the McIntosh County Public Schools Golden Rule Character Awards Program
- 4 was implemented during the 1999-2000 school year in accordance with the state character
- 5 education requirement; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the program is founded on the guiding philosophy, "Do unto others as you
- 7 would have them do unto you," and a sincere belief that if children understand this motto,
- 8 they would make every effort to avoid hurting others, given the realization that in hurting
- 9 others they would be bringing hurt upon themselves; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Golden Rule Character Awards Program is funded primarily by the
- 11 Katz-Ray and Helen Whittle, Jr. Memorial Foundation, a nonprofit organization established
- 12 by Helen Whittle Katz as a memorial to four deceased family members: her children, Helen
- and Ray, Jr., and husbands Ray Whittle and Morris Katz; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the following outstanding students have been chosen as the recipients of the
- 15 2006-2007 McIntosh County Public Schools Golden Rule Award: Javonté Sullivan, Ashlyn
- 16 Rayhon, Cindy Chen, Jalen Reynolds, Grayson Hulett, Mazzystar Bragg, Katherine Power,
- 17 Violeta Venzor, Jochia Murfree, Jordan Suber, Roy Ross, Chloe Rowe, Tate LaFleur, Ellie
- 18 Baker, Elizabeth Dixon, Gabe Thomson, Ji'mara Palmer, Alyssa Outhwaite, Chris Belt,
- 19 Raymond Adderly, Shaquail Pipley, Jariell Wiley, Raynette Palmer, Olonda McIver,
- 20 Timothy B. Moran, Christina Hagan, Sharon Young, and Marvin Scherrer; and
- 21 WHEREAS, they have exemplified the virtues of honesty, compassion, and citizenship, and
- 22 these students have brought honor to their school, their families, and the State of Georgia.

07 LC 96 2691

 $1\quad \mathsf{NOW}, \mathsf{THEREFORE}, \mathsf{BE}\,\mathsf{IT}\,\mathsf{RESOLVED}\,\mathsf{BY}\,\mathsf{THE}\,\mathsf{HOUSE}\,\mathsf{OF}\,\mathsf{REPRESENTATIVES}\,\mathsf{that}$

- 2 the members of this body commend the McIntosh County Public Schools Golden Rule
- 3 Award Winners 2006-2007 and extend to them their sincerest best wishes for the future.
- 4 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 5 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to McIntosh County Public
- 6 Schools and to each student named herein.