House Resolution 649

By: Representatives Manning of the 32nd, Burkhalter of the 50th, Tumlin of the 38th, Setzler of the 35th, Ehrhart of the 36th, and others

A RESOLUTION

Congratulating the Kennesaw State University Owls ice hockey team; and for other purposes. 1

2 WHEREAS, the Kennesaw State University Owls ice hockey team gained national

3 recognition by winning the 2006-2007 ACHA Division III National Championship,

- 4 becoming the first hockey team from the South Division to claim a national title; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the Eagles soared through the playoffs and, as a fitting finale to their remarkable

2006-2007 campaign, they seized the national championship with a dominating 5-1 win over 6

7 SUNY-Albany, finishing the season with an impressive 25-7 record; and

8 WHEREAS, this magnificent team was composed of the following fine athletes: Jimmy 9 Barry, Andrew Chlebek, Chris Cullen, Sean Devine, Ryan Falvai, Kyle Farrell, Robbie 10 Farris, Joshn Grundner, Jordan Grzegorczyk, John Hogan, Jerry Holden, Matt Howard, Ryan 11 Howe, Rod Johnson, Chris Koutnik, Ryan Kovac, Brett Lester, Ricky Lirette, Tony Lopez, 12 Curtis Morrison, Dylan Morrison, Dustin Olsen, Matt Schroeder, Aaron Sewell, Tyler 13 Totten, Nathan Heffley, Ryan Repasi, Joe Vergona, and Steven Hartley; and

14 WHEREAS, the team's phenomenal performance is a clear indication of the outstanding 15 athletic ability, the dedication and hard work, and the unity of purpose and spirit of each 16 member of the team, as well as their superb offensive and defensive talents and the astute guidance of Director of Hockey Operations William "Bill" Morrison, Head Coach Matt 17 18 Hogan, Assistant Coaches Jared Marinich and Kevin Fraser, General Manager Rod Brown, 19 and Team President Ryan Falvai.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that 20

- 21 the members of this body congratulate the coaches, fans, and players of the Kennesaw State
- 22 University Owls ice hockey team for their tremendous accomplishment in capturing the
- 2006-2007 ACHA Division III National Championship. 23

07

- 1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 2 and directed to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to the Kennesaw State
- 3 University Owls ice hockey team.