07 LC 96 2195

House Resolution 227

By: Representative Porter of the 143rd

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and congratulating the Dublin High School Fighting Irish football team on
- 2 winning the 2006 Class AA State Football Championship and inviting them to appear before
- 3 the House of Representatives; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, the Dublin High School football team has established and maintained a proud
- 5 tradition of excellence with equal emphases on character and academics; and
- 6 WHEREAS, these outstanding young athletes demonstrated considerable talent, discipline,
- 7 coordination, and brilliant teamwork throughout the season, supporting each other and
- 8 keeping a positive attitude through hundreds of hours of practice; and
- 9 WHEREAS, this superlative team has completed another exceptional season of football
- 10 competition by remaining undefeated for its regular season and posting an amazing 14-0-1
- 11 record; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the Fighting Irish soared through the state playoffs and, as a fitting finale to
- 13 their remarkable 2006 campaign, captured the Class AA State Football Championship and
- an all-time Georgia high school record for the most points scored in a single season with 682
- 15 points; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the 2006 Dublin High School Fighting Irish championship team consisted of
- 17 the following fine athletes: #1 Andreakeas Rollins, #2 Thomas Barnes, #4 Drew Griggs, #5
- 18 Brian Wilcher, #6 Brandon Edmond, #7 Josh Tarpley, #8 Jamon Morris, #9 Rashard Smith,
- 19 #10 Eddie Vickers, #11 Derelle Lewis, #12 Will Griffith, #13 Izell Stephens, #14 Jesse
- 20 Coxwell, #16 Sammy Daniel, #17 Ben Cochran, #18 Kelsea Fordham, #19 Jontrel Colbert,
- 21 #20 Darrel O'Neal, #21 Keshawn Spikes, #22 Carlon Howard, #24 Quenton Pooler, #25 Zach
- 22 Scott, #26 Trey Tyler, #27 Ridge Cannon, #28 Kelvin Carswell, #30 Antwan Edmond, #32
- Curtis Byrd, #38 Chris Wright, #40 Jamel Carr, #42 Josh Jordan, #44 Kenyardo O'Neal, #49
- Quenton Carter, #50 Anthony Thomas, #52 Henry Mason, #53 Duad Norris, #54 Jordan

07 LC 96 2195

1 Brown, #55 Mylo Austin, #57 Chris Williams, #58 Simone Cooper, #59 Tony Smith, #60

- 2 Formus White, #62 Michael Hall, #63 Tim Wells, #64 Thomas Purvis, #65 Jack Whittle, #66
- 3 Evan Melton, #67 Ben Miller, #69 Kale Watson, #70 Jesse Hall, #71 Paul Brown, #72
- 4 Johnny Howard, #74 Emanual Gilmore, #75 Miles Allen, #76 Nick McRae, #77 Tyler Josey,
- 5 #78 Chase Price, #79 Trent Barnes, #80 Jerome Simms, #81 Brandon Taylor, #82 Thomas
- 6 Cox, #83 Tawaski King, #84 Briceton Cannada, #85 Grant Hingst, #86 Nick Davis, #87
- 7 Jerico Anderson, and #89 Brian Bearss; and

8

- 9 WHEREAS, the phenomenal performance of the team is a clear indication of the outstanding
- 10 athletic ability, dedication, and hard work of each team member and of the astute direction
- of Head Coach Roger Holmes and Assistant Coaches William Barham, Nick Collins, Ron
- 12 Taylor, Jody Pollock, Don Vandygriff, Matt Gibbs, Travis Love, Marty Claxton, George
- 13 Hagler, and Steven Simpson.
- 14 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 15 the members of this body commend the Dublin High School Fighting Irish football team on
- 16 a season of unparalleled athletic achievement and congratulate its players on winning the
- 17 2006 Class AA State Football Championship.
- 18 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Dublin High School Fighting Irish football team is
- 19 hereby invited to appear before the House of Representatives at a date and time to be fixed
- 20 by the Speaker of the House for purposes of being recognized by the House and receiving
- 21 an appropriate copy of this resolution.