07 LC 96 2291

Senate Resolution 244

By: Senators Carter of the 13th, Cowsert of the 46th and Heath of the 31st

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the 4-H Clubs of Georgia and recognizing Monday, February 12, 2007, as "4-H
- 2 Day at the Capitol"; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 4 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 5 Georgia; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Ms. Abigail Grace Lloyd serves with distinction and dedication as state 4-H
- 7 president; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles of Cooperative Extension and state 4-H youth leader
- 9 has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Drew Bowers of Oconee County,
- 11 Katie Comer of Carroll County, Beth Haire of Evans County, and Colby Connell of Lanier
- 12 County as district presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in their
- election of each of these young people to serve as president for 2006-2007; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Ashley
- 15 Buford of Crisp County, Brittani Kelley of Rockdale County, Emily Lloyd of Bartow
- 16 County, Phillip Nowicki of Heard County, and Emme Worthy of Paulding County were
- 17 recognized in Washington, D.C., at the 2006 National 4-H Conference; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Jeremy Roberts of Lumpkin County and Brittany Kimball-Scott of Madison
- 19 County were named 2006 Teen Leadership winners; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Kasey Bozeman of Pike County, Erinne Dennis of Haralson County, Joseph
- 21 Stunzi of Clarke County, Laura Warren of Mitchell County, and Heather Williams of Liberty
- 22 County were named state winners in the 2006 Dean's Awards competition; and

07 LC 96 2291

- 1 WHEREAS, Monday, February 12, 2007, is "4-H Day at the Capitol".
- 2 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 3 recognize and commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and
- 4 Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Ms. Abigail Grace Lloyd, state 4-H Club president;
- 5 Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, state 4-H youth leader; and each of the 2006-2007 4-H district
- 6 presidents, 2006 Dean's Awards winners, 2006 Conference delegates, and 2006 Teen
- 7 Leadership winners for their numerous accomplishments and for the leadership which they
- 8 have demonstrated.
- 9 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 10 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the University of Georgia Cooperative
- 11 Extension.