07 LC 96 2031

Senate Resolution 50

By: Senators Harp of the 29th and Harbison of the 15th

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Congratulating the Columbus Northern Little Leaguers on winning the Little League
- 2 Baseball World Series; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, on August 28, 2006, the Columbus Northern Little Leaguers drew worldwide
- 4 attention by defeating Kawaguchi City, Japan, 2-1 and capturing the Little League World
- 5 Championship title; and
- 6 WHEREAS, over the span of several months of preparation, every member of this superb
- 7 team was highly diligent in perfecting his skills to the level of international excellence; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the Columbus team became the first little league baseball team from Georgia
- 9 to win the World Series Championship title in 23 years; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Manager Randy Morris and Coach Richard Carter guided their players to
- victory with their inspirational leadership and unwavering devotion to excellence; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the Columbus Northern Little League team is composed of the following young
- 13 athletes: Cody Walker #21, Kyle Carter #19, Brady Hamilton #6, Josh Lester #4, J. T.
- 14 Phillips #22, Patrick Stallings #25, Matthew Hollis #10, Matthew Kuhlenberg # 7, Ryan
- 15 Lang #18, Kyle Rovig #8, and Mason Meyers #16; and
- 16 WHEREAS, parents and friends of the team members are justly proud of the Little League
- 17 World Champions for their extraordinary success.
- 18 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 19 join in congratulating the members, manager, and coach of the Columbus Northern Little
- 20 Leaguers on winning the Little League Baseball World Series.

07 LC 96 2031

1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed

2 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the Columbus Northern Little League

3 team.