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ADOPTED SENATE

Senators Hamrick of the 30th and Williams of the 19th offered the following amendment:1

Amend HB 847 by striking lines 1 and 2 of page 1 and inserting in lieu thereof the following:2

To amend Chapter 11 of Title 15 and Chapter 3 of Title 19 of the Official Code of Georgia3

Annotated, relating to juvenile proceedings and marriage generally, so as to establish the4

conditions for minors to become emancipated by5

By inserting after "minor;" on line 7 of page 1 the following:6

to provide that a person be at least 18 years of age in order to contract for marriage except7

under limited circumstances; to repeal an exception to such age requirement in the case of8

pregnancy or live birth; to repeal an exception to parental consent based upon pregnancy or9

live birth; to change certain provisions relating to proof of age for applicants to marry; to10

change certain provisions relating to parental consent; to repeal a provision relating to11

notification of parents for underage applicants and additional fees;12

By inserting after line 31 of page 7 the following:13

SECTION 6A.14

Chapter 3 of Title 19 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to marriage15

generally, is amended by striking Code Section 19-3-2, relating to who may contract16

marriage, and inserting in lieu thereof the following:17

"19-3-2.18

(a)  To be able to contract marriage, a person must:19

(1)  Be of sound mind;20

(2)  Except as provided in subsection (b) of this Code section, be Be at least 16 18 years21

of age.  If either applicant is under the age of majority, parental consent shall be required,22

as provided in Code Section 19-3-37. However, the age limitations contained in this23

paragraph shall not apply upon proof of pregnancy on the part of the female or in24

instances in which both applicants are the parents of a living child born out of wedlock,25

in which case the parties may contract marriage regardless of age;26

(3)  Have no living spouse of a previous undissolved marriage.  The dissolution of a27

previous marriage in divorce proceedings must be affirmatively established and will not28

be presumed.  Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to affect the legitimacy of29

children; and30

(4)  Not be related to the prospective spouse by blood or marriage within the prohibited31

degrees.32
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(b)  If either applicant for marriage is 16 or 17 years of age, parental consent as provided1

in Code Section 19-3-37 shall be required."2

SECTION 6B.3

Said chapter is further amended by striking in its entirety Code Section 19-3-36, relating to4

proof of age of applicants, physician´s certificate of pregnancy or parenthood of applicants5

under age of 16, inspection of certificate, and destruction of certificate, and inserting in lieu6

thereof the following:7

"19-3-36.8

The judge of the probate court to whom the application for a marriage license is made shall9

satisfy himself or herself that the provisions set forth in Code Section 19-3-2 regarding age10

limitations are met or that such limitations are not required by virtue of an order issued11

pursuant to Code Section 15-11-183.  If the judge does not know of his or her own12

knowledge the age of a party for whom a marriage license is sought, the judge shall require13

the applicant to furnish the court with documentary evidence of proof of age in the form14

of a birth certificate, driver´s license, baptismal certificate, certificate of birth registration,15

selective service card, court record, passport, immigration papers, alien papers, citizenship16

papers, armed forces discharge papers, armed forces identification card, or hospital17

admission card containing the full name and date of birth.  In the event an applicant does18

not possess any of the above but appears to the judge to be at least 25 years of age, the19

applicant, in lieu of furnishing the judge with one of the above, may give an affidavit to the20

judge stating the applicant´s age.  Applicants who have satisfactorily proved that they have21

reached the age of majority may be issued a marriage license immediately."22

SECTION 6C.23

Said chapter is further amended by striking subsection (b) of Code Section 19-3-37, relating24

to parental consent to marriage of underage applicants, when necessary, and how obtained,25

and inserting in lieu thereof the following:26

"(b)  When parental consent required; how obtained.  Except when the female applicant27

is pregnant or when both applicants are the parents of a living child born out of wedlock,28

in In cases where the parties applying for a license have not yet reached the age of majority29

are 16 or 17 years of age, their ages to be proved to the judge of the probate court as30

provided in Code Section 19-3-36, the parents or guardians of each underage applicant31

must shall appear in person before the judge and consent to the proposed marriage,32

provided that if physical presence because of illness or infirmity is impossible, an affidavit33

by the incapacitated parent or guardian along with an affidavit signed by a licensed34

attending physician stating that the parent or guardian is physically incapable of being35



06 AM 29 0592

- 3 -

present shall suffice.  The licensed attending physician shall include only those physicians1

licensed under Chapter 34 of Title 43 or under corresponding requirements pertaining to2

licensed attending physicians in sister states."3

SECTION 6D.4

Said chapter is further amended by striking and reserving Code Section 19-3-38, relating to5

notification of parents of underage applicants and an additional fee, and inserting in lieu6

thereof the following:7

"19-3-38.8

The judge of the probate court shall be required, in all cases where parental consent is not9

required under Code Sections 19-3-2, 19-3-36, and 19-3-37, to notify the parents of any10

male or female 17 years of age or younger who applies for a marriage license. The parents11

shall be notified immediately by first-class mail at their last known address. In license12

applications which require notification of parents under this Code section, the judge shall13

collect an additional fee of $1.00, which shall be in addition to any other fee authorized by14

law.  Reserved."15


