House Resolution 1823

By: Representatives Smith of the 129th, Graves of the 137th, Burkhalter of the 50th, Coan of the 101st, May of the 111th, and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Welcoming O. Bruton Smith, Jeff Burton, Reed Sorenson, John Andretti, Bill Lester, and
- 2 David Ragan to Atlanta Motor Speedway Day at the Capitol; and for other purposes.
- WHEREAS, the General Assembly of Georgia is honored to be visited by six esteemed
 members of the NASCAR community on March 16, 2006, Atlanta Motor Speedway Day at
- 5 the Capitol; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mr. O. Bruton Smith serves as Chairman and CEO of Speedway Motorsports,
 7 Inc.; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Mr. Jeff Burton is the driver of the No. 31 Cingular Chevrolet for Richard
 9 Childress Racing (NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series); and
- 10 WHEREAS, Peachtree City native Mr. Reed Sorenson is the driver of the No. 41 Target
- 11 Dodge for Chip Ganassi Racing (NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series) and the No. 41 Discount
- 12 Tire Dodge (NASCAR Busch Series); and
- 13 WHEREAS, Mr. John Andretti is the driver of the No. 10 FreedomRoads Ford for ppc
- Racing (NASCAR Busch Series) and owner of the Andretti Karting Center in Roswell,Georgia; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Mr. Bill Lester, an Atlanta native, is the driver of the No. 22 Waste17 Management Toyota for Bill Davis Racing (NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series); and
- 18 WHEREAS, Mr. David Ragan is the driver of the No. 6 Ford for Roush Racing (NASCAR
- 19 Craftsman Truck Series) and a native of Unadilla, Georgia; and
- WHEREAS, the members of this body are very excited to be visited by these six outstandinggentlemen.

- 1 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 2 the members of this body join in welcoming O. Bruton Smith, Jeff Burton, Reed Sorenson,
- 3 John Andretti, Bill Lester, and David Ragan to the Capitol on March 16, 2006, Atlanta Motor
- 4 Speedway Day at the Capitol.
- 5 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 6 and directed to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to O. Bruton Smith, Jeff Burton,
- 7 Reed Sorenson, John Andretti, Bill Lester, and David Ragan.