Senate Resolution 842

By: Senators Carter of the 13th and Kemp of the 46th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing Georgia 4-H, a unit of the Cooperative Extension Service of the University of
- 2 Georgia in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences and inviting Mr. Cody
- 3 Thomas, Dr. Bo Ryles, Dr. Scott Angle, Dr. Mel Garber and the 2005-2006 4-H Leadership
- 4 Team to appear before the Senate; and for other purposes.
- 5 WHEREAS, 197,659 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership
- 6 necessary to be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young
- 7 people of Georgia; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Mr. Cody Thomas serves with distinction and dedication as State 4-H President;
 9 and
- 10 WHEREAS, Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, State 4-H Leader and Director of 4-H, has worked
- 11 diligently with Cooperative Extension Service agents, specialists and leaders of the 4-H
- 12 Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Dr. Scott Angle and Dr. Mel Garber have provided leadership for the14 Cooperative Extension Service of the University of Georgia; and
- WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication and hard work of Asya Muhammad of McIntosh
 County as State Vice President, Kitty Ball of Lincoln County, Abigail Lloyd of Bartow
 County, Jordan McCoy of Bryan County, and Zenobia Williams of Seminole County as
 District Presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in their election of each
- 19 of these young people to serve as presidents for 2005-06; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Allie
- 21 Chambers of Jones County, Joelle Freeman of Gwinnett County, Scottie Rowell of Heard
- 22 County, Luke Usry of Peach County, and Christina Waller of Oglethorpe County were
- 23 recognized in Washington, D.C. at the 2005 National 4-H Conference; and

LC 25 4360

- 1 WHEREAS, Kasey Bozeman of Pike County, and Kathy Snooks of Effingham County were
- 2 named 2005 Teen Leadership Winners; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Allie Chambers of Jones County, Joelle Freeman of Gwinnett County, Emily
- 4 Lloyd of Bartow County, Sam Raybon of Paulding County, and Christina Waller of
- 5 Oglethorpe County were named state winners in the 2005 Dean's Awards competition; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Scottie Rowell of Heard County was named a member of the National 4-H
 7 Youth Technology Leadership Team; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Laura Leidner, Sally Smith, Austin Suggs, and Samantha Tankersley of Tift
 9 County were named national winners at the National Poultry Judging Competition; and
- WHEREAS, Anna Collins, Byron Collins, Andrew Davidson, and Sammy Hodges of
 Crawford County were named national winners at the National Wildlife Judging
 Competition; and
- WHEREAS, Ashley Buford and Sandra McKinney of Crisp County were named membersof the National 4-H Youth Directions Council; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Monday, February 13, 2006, is 4-H Day at the State Capitol.
- 16 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body recognize and commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and 17 18 Environmental Sciences 4-H Program, Mr. Cody Thomas, State 4-H President, Dr. Roger C. 19 (Bo) Ryles, Director of 4-H, Dr. Scott Angle, Dean and Director of the College of 20 Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Dr. Mel Garber, Associate Dean of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Ms. Asya Muhammad, State 4-H Vice 21 22 President, and each of the 2005-06 4-H district presidents, 2005 Dean's Awards winners, 2005 National 4-H Conference delegates, 2005 Teen Leadership winners, National Poultry 23 Judging Competition winners, National Wildlife Judging Competition winners, National 4-H 24 25 Youth Directions Council members, and National 4-H Youth Technology Leadership Team 26 member for their numerous accomplishments and for the leadership which they have 27 demonstrated.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Mr. Cody Thomas, Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, and each
 of the 4-H leaders and members named in this resolution are invited to appear before the

- 1 Senate on such date and at such time to be determined by the Secretary of the Senate, and
- 2 that Mr. Cody Thomas is invited to address the Senate upon such date.
- 3 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 4 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the University of Georgia Cooperative
- 5 Extension.