06 LC 97 0335

House Resolution 1307

By: Representatives Smith of the 113th and Crawford of the 127th

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending Georgia 4-H, a unit of Cooperative Extension at the
- 2 University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, and inviting
- 3 Mr. Cody Thomas, Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, Dr. Scott Angle, Dr. Mel Garber, and the
- 4 2005-2006 4H Leadership Team to appear before the House of Representatives; and for other
- 5 purposes.
- 6 WHEREAS, the 197,659 members of 4-H consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership
- 7 necessary to be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young
- 8 people of Georgia; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Cody Thomas serves with distinction and dedication as State 4-H President;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, State 4-H Leader and Director of 4-H, has worked
- 12 diligently with Extension agents, specialists, and leaders of the 4-H Clubs throughout
- 13 Georgia; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Dr. Scott Angle and Dr. Mel Garber have provided leadership for Cooperative
- 15 Extension; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Asya Muhammad of McIntosh
- 17 County as State Vice President, Kitty Ball of Lincoln County, Abigail Lloyd of Bartow
- 18 County, Jordan McCoy of Bryan County, and Zenobia Williams of Seminole County as
- 19 District Presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in their election of each
- 20 of these young people to serve as president for 2005-2006; and
- 21 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Allie
- 22 Chambers of Jones County, Joelle Freeman of Gwinnett County, Scottie Rowell of Heard

06 LC 97 0335

1 County, Luke Usry of Peach County, and Christina Waller of Oglethorpe County were

- 2 recognized in Washington, D.C., at the 2005 National 4-H Conference; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Kasey Bozeman of Pike County and Kathy Snooks of Effingham County were
- 4 named 2005 Teen Leadership winners; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Allie Chambers of Jones County, Joelle Freeman of Gwinnett County, Emily
- 6 Lloyd of Bartow County, Sam Raybon of Paulding County, and Christina Waller of
- 7 Oglethorpe County were named state winners in the 2005 Dean's Awards competition; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Scottie Rowell of Heard County was named a member of the National 4-H
- 9 Youth Technology Leadership Team; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Laura Leidner, Sally Smith, Austin Suggs, and Samantha Tankersley of Tift
- 11 County were named national winners at the National Poultry Judging Competition; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Anna Collins, Byron Collins, Andrew Davidson, and Sammy Hodges of
- 13 Crawford County were named national winners at the National Wildlife Judging
- 14 Competition; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Ashley Buford and Sandra McKinney of Crisp County were named members
- 16 of the National 4-H Youth Directions Council; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Monday, February 13, 2006, is 4-H Day at the state capitol.
- 18 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 19 the members of this body recognize and commend Georgia 4-H, a unit of Cooperative
- 20 Extension at the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences;
- 21 Mr. Cody Thomas, State 4-H President; Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, Director of 4-H;
- 22 Dr. Scott Angle, Dean and Director of the College of Agricultural and Environmental
- 23 Sciences; Ms. Asya Muhammad, State 4-H Vice President; and each of the 2005-2006 4-H
- 24 district presidents, 2005 Dean's Awards winners, 2005 National 4-H Conference delegates,
- 25 2005 Teen Leadership winners, National Poultry Judging Competition winners, National
- 26 Wildlife Judging Competition winners, National 4-H Youth Directions Council members,
- 27 and National 4-H Youth Technology Leadership Team members for their numerous
- 28 accomplishments.

06 LC 97 0335

1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Mr. Cody Thomas, Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, and each

- 2 of the 4-H leaders and members named in this resolution are invited to the House of
- 3 Representatives for purposes of being recognized by the House and receiving appropriate
- 4 copies of this resolution at a date and time to be fixed by the Speaker of the House and that
- 5 Mr. Cody Thomas is invited to address the House of Representatives upon such date.
- 6 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 7 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the University of Georgia
- 8 Cooperative Extension.