## A RESOLUTION

1 Commending the class of Youth Leadership Baldwin 2006; and for other purposes.

- 2 WHEREAS, Youth Leadership Baldwin, a program of the Milledgeville-Baldwin County
- 3 Chamber of Commerce and the Leadership Baldwin Alumni, provides an invaluable learning
- 4 experience for the future leaders of Baldwin County; and

5 WHEREAS, this laudable program began in 1999 as a way to cultivate the talents and 6 knowledge of civic-minded youth who aspire to participate in shaping the future of their 7 community; and

- 8 WHEREAS, participants include Joshua Basilio, Mary-E Godfrey, Blair Harshbarger,
- 9 Courtney Hogan, Rashona Moss, Sarranda Scott, and Samantha Young from Baldwin High
- 10 School; Alex deFeria, Danielle Fietkau, Jessica Grant, Mandy Moore, and Abbie Wood from
- 11 Georgia Military College; and Magan Cowart, Mary Fechner, M.A. Linch, Lindsey Simons,
- 12 and Gordon Stewart from John Milledge Academy; and
- 13 WHEREAS, those selected for Youth Leadership Baldwin are given an opportunity to gain
- 14 a greater understanding of how their county and state operates through a range of activities
- 15 highlighting a variety of components of local and state government and institutions; and
- WHEREAS, the futures of all the communities of Georgia depend on individuals such as the
  Youth Leadership Baldwin participants, who are willing to dedicate their time and talent to
  civic affairs.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
  join in commending the class of Youth Leadership Baldwin 2006 for their commitment to
  the future of their community and congratulate them for being selected for this outstanding
  program.

- 1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 2 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Mrs. Terry Kennedy, Youth Leadership
- 3 Baldwin Coordinator.