By: Senators Carter of the 13th, Goggans of the 7th and Kemp of the 46th

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending the law enforcement officers involved in the pursuit and

2 apprehension of an armed robbery suspect in South Georgia on June 3, 2005; and for other

- 3 purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, on June 3, 2005, there was an armed robbery in Waycross, Georgia, and the

5 Waycross Police Department issued a lookout for the suspect who was believed to be driving

6 a Freightliner semi-tractor; and

7 WHEREAS, shortly thereafter, a Waycross police officer spotted the vehicle in a parking lot

- 8 in Waycross and with other officers attempted to surround the vehicle and apprehend the9 suspect; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the driver of the semi drove away before the officers could apprehend him,
- 11 beginning a police chase that extended through four counties; and

12 WHEREAS, the chase involved numerous law enforcement personnel from the law 13 enforcement agencies of the four counties as well as the Georgia State Patrol and the

14 Department of Motor Vehicle Services; and

WHEREAS, although the officers managed to shoot out the tires of the truck, the chase continued at speeds of up to 85 miles per hour until the truck reached Tifton where the officers apprehended the driver; and

WHEREAS, if it were not for the courage and professionalism of these officers, serious injury and loss of life may have resulted from this incident; but, because of the exemplary work of these dedicated law enforcement officers, the suspect was apprehended without anyone being injured; and

- 1 WHEREAS, the courage and professionalism of the officers involved in this incident is
- 2 worthy of recognition and commendation; and

3 WHEREAS, the officers involved in this incident were: TFC Terry Thrift, TFC Chad Woods, TFC Gary Thrift, T/CDT Timothy McRae, SFC Richard L. Davis, TFC Israel C. 4 Hendley, CEO Chris Wilkerson, SGT Don R. Whitaker, TFC Christopher Jewell, CEO 5 Eileen Jenkins, SFC Rusty Harrelson, TFC Tommy Owen, and CPL Hamilton Halford of the 6 7 Georgia State Patrol; Jack Bennett, Hilton Boyett, Bryan Smith, Richard Taylor, LT Chris 8 Tatum, MAJ Anthony Tanner, Alan Dowling, DET Larry Hill, SGT Wayne Fullard, SGT Annie Dyal, and Tim Lucas of the Waycross Police Department; Jason McQuaig, Sam 9 Gordon, Wade Bennett, SGT Joe Morris, CAPT Peggy Guinn, CPL Chris Hackett, and DET 10 Missy Fullard of the Ware County Sheriff's Office; Tony Benefield, Wayne Luke, Donald 11 Franklin, Riley O'Berry, and Ray Paulk of the Berrien County Sheriff's Office; Worth 12 County Sheriff Freddie Tompkins; Sheriff Gary Vowell, MAJ Jack Woolard, CAPT Larry 13 Taylor, CAPT Bobby Brannen, CAPT Mike Walker, LT Rick Brown, SGT Ray Merritt, SGT 14 Mike Watts, SGT James Partain, DEP Rocky Carter, DEP Mark Lyles, DEP Chris 15 Strickland, DEP Larry Burkhead, Chaplain Frank Barfield, CAPT Bryan Giddens, and LT 16 17 Jeff Thompson of the Tift County Sheriff's Office; Chief James A. Smith, LT Steve Hyman, 18 Torrie Adams, Danny Hayes, Mike Revels, Chuck Snyder, DET Ricky Day, and CAPT Terry 19 Ziegler of the Tifton Police Department; and SGT Michael E. Massey, SGT Richard Shiver, 20 SGT Richard Young, CAPT Johnny Jones, and MAJ Charles Purvis of the Motor Carrier 21 Compliance Division of the Department of Public Safety.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body recognize and commend the law enforcement officers involved in the pursuit and apprehension of the armed robbery suspect on June 3, 2005, and express appreciation for the bravery and professionalism that they displayed in this incident.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to each of the officers.