05 LC 98 0138

Senate Resolution 131

By: Senator Hill of the 4th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the 4-H Clubs of Georgia, Mr. Scottie Rowell, Dr. Roger C. (Bo)
- 2 Ryles, Dr. Mel Garber, and the 2004-2005 4-H Leadership Team; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to be
- 4 champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of Georgia;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mr. Scottie Rowell serves with distinction and dedication as State 4-H President; and
- 7 WHEREAS, State 4-H Youth Leaders Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles of the University of Georgia
- 8 Cooperative Extension Service and Dr. Mel Garber, the Associate Dean of the University of Georgia
- 9 College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, have worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs
- 10 throughout Georgia; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Ward Black of Jackson County, Emily
- 12 Lloyd of Bartow County, Crystal Hooks of Emanuel County, and Emily Shiver of Berrien County
- as District Presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in their election of each of
- 14 these young people to serve as president for 2004-2005; and
- WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Anna Daniel
- of Butts County, Christopher Nowicki of Heard County, Mita Patel of Ben Hill County, Mack Prater
- 17 of Jackson County, Stacy Rahn of Effingham County, and Matthew Williams of Crawford County
- 18 were recognized in Washington, D.C., at the 2004 National 4-H Conference; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Stacy Rahn of Effingham County and Ashley Buford of Crisp County were named
- 20 2004 Teen Leadership Winners; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Heather Savelle of Oconee County, Ashley Buford of Crisp County, Carl Glascock of
- 22 Lowndes County, Katie Matthews of Oglethorpe County, and Melanie Hollingsworth of Wayne
- 23 County were named state winners in the 2004 Dean's Awards competition; and

05 LC 98 0138

1 WHEREAS, Grant Grantham, Cody Hersey, Ryan Solomon, and Aric Spivey of Coffee County

- 2 were named national winners at the National 4-H Shotgun Competition; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Ashlin Reid of Bulloch County was named National 4-H Beekeeping Essay Contest
- 4 winner; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Laura Stone of Burke County was named a member of the National 4-H Youth
- 6 Technology Leadership Team; and
- WHEREAS, Tuesday, February 15, 2005, is 4-H Day at the State Capitol.
- 8 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 9 recognize and commend the 4-H Clubs of Georgia; the University of Georgia College of
- 10 Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Mr. Scottie Rowell, State 4-H Club
- 11 President; Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, State 4-H Youth Leader; Dr. Mel Garber, Associate Dean of the
- 12 University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; and each of the
- 13 2004-2005 4-H District Presidents, 2004 National 4-H Conference delegates, 2004 Teen Leadership
- 14 winners, 2004 Dean's Awards winners, National 4-H Shotgun Competition winners, National 4-H
- 15 Beekeeping Essay Contest winner, and National 4-H Youth Technology Leadership Team member
- 16 for their numerous accomplishments and for the leadership which they have demonstrated.
- 17 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed to
- 18 transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Mr. Scottie Rowell, Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, Dr.
- 19 Mel Garber, each of the 4-H leaders and members named in this resolution, and the University of
- 20 Georgia Cooperative Extension Service.