05 LC 19 6485

House Resolution 211

By: Representatives Butler of the 18th, Horne of the 71st, Millar of the 79th, Cox of the 102nd, Smith of the 129th, and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the Auburn University football team; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, as the crowning achievement of a spectacular 13-0 2004 season, the Auburn
- 3 University Tiger football team captured the coveted SEC Championship, the 2005 Sugar
- 4 Bowl Championship, and a Number 2 BSC Ranking; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the level of excellence achieved during the 2004 season required the dedication
- 6 and creativity of the coaching staff, which was led by Head Coach Tommy Tuberville and
- 7 a team of dedicated young men infused with talent and determination; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the 2004 Auburn University football team was composed of 99 members, 23
- 9 of which are Georgia high school graduates and two native Georgia coaches. The Georgia
- 10 players on the Auburn Football Team are as follows: David Irons, Dacula, Georgia, Dacula
- 11 High School; Donnay Young, College Park, Georgia, North Clayton High School; Calvin
- 12 Booker, Atlanta, Georgia, Mays High School; Carlos Rogers, Augusta, Georgia, Butler High
- 13 School; Wesley Hill, Cordele, Georgia, Crisp County High School; Ronnie Brown,
- 14 Cartersville, Georgia, Cartersville High School; Kenny Irons, Dacula, Georgia, Dacula High
- 15 School; Tristan Davis, East Point, Georgia, Tri-Cities High School; Brad Lester, Lilburn,
- 16 Georgia, Parkview High School; Antarrious Williams, Columbus, Georgia, Shaw High
- 17 School; Gerald Williams, Columbus, Georgia, Carver High School; Rory Carter, Columbus,
- 18 Georgia; Robert Shiver, Columbus, Georgia; Todd Hughes, Marietta, Georgia; Troy
- 19 Reddick, Albany, Georgia, Westover High School; Danny Lindsey, Douglas, Georgia,
- 20 Coffee High School; Antwoin Daniels, Forsyth, Georgia, Mary Persons High School; Jarrod
- 21 Britt, Powder Springs, Georgia, McEachern High School; Marcus McNeill, Decatur,
- 22 Georgia, Cedar Grove High School; Jonathan Palmer, Decatur, Georgia, Cedar Grove High
- 23 School; Octavius Balkcom, Blakely, Georgia, Early County High School; James Swinton,
- 24 Tucker, Georgia, Tucker High School; Jay Ratliff, Valdosta, Georgia, Lowndes County High
- 25 School; Coach Hugh Nall, Thomaston, Georgia; and Coach Terry Price, Atlanta, Georgia;
- 26 and

05 LC 19 6485

1 WHEREAS, every member of the team and staff deserves credit and commendation for a

- 2 thrilling and successful season and, more importantly, for demonstrating the kind of character
- 3 that will serve them well in their future endeavors; and
- 4 WHEREAS, the success of the Auburn University football team has energized and inspired
- 5 an entire nation and lifted the spirit of the school and all of the Auburn family; and
- 6 WHEREAS, it is most fitting that the accomplishments of this team be properly recognized
- 7 and that congratulations be conveyed to the team members.
- 8 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 9 the members of this body congratulate the players and coaches of the Auburn University
- 10 football team on winning the SEC championship and extend to them sincerest wishes for
- 11 continued success.
- 12 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Head Coach Tommy
- 14 Tuberville.