05 LC 34 0193

House Resolution 199

By: Representatives Smith of the 113th, Crawford of the 127th, Ehrhart of the 36th, Royal of the 171st, Roberts of the 154th, and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the 4-H Clubs of Georgia and inviting Mr. Scottie Rowell, Dr.
- 2 Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, Dr. Mel Garber, and the 2004-2005 4-H Leadership Team to appear
- 3 before the House of Representatives; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 5 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 6 Georgia; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Mr. Scottie Rowell serves with distinction and dedication as State 4-H
- 8 President; and
- 9 WHEREAS, State 4-H Youth Leader Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles of the University of Georgia
- 10 Cooperative Extension Service has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout
- 11 Georgia; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Dr. Mel Garber, the Associate Dean of the University of Georgia College of
- 13 Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, has worked diligently with 4-H Clubs throughout
- 14 Georgia; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Ward Black of Jackson County,
- 16 Emily Lloyd of Bartow County, Crystal Hooks of Emanuel County, and Emily Shiver of
- 17 Berrien County as District Presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in
- their election of each of these young people to serve as president for 2004-2005; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Anna
- 20 Daniel of Butts County, Christopher Nowicki of Heard County, Mita Patel of Ben Hill
- 21 County, Mack Prater of Jackson County, Stacy Rahn of Effingham County, and Matthew
- Williams of Crawford County were recognized in Washington, D.C., at the 2004 National
- 23 4-H Conference; and

05 LC 34 0193

1 WHEREAS, Stacy Rahn of Effingham County and Ashley Buford of Crisp County were

- 2 named 2004 Teen Leadership Winners; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Heather Savelle of Oconee County, Ashley Buford of Crisp County, Carl
- 4 Glascock of Lowndes County, Katie Matthews of Oglethorpe County, and Melanie
- 5 Hollingsworth of Wayne County were named state winners in the 2004 Dean's Awards
- 6 competition; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Grant Grantham, Cody Hersey, Ryan Solomon, and Aric Spivey of Coffee
- 8 County were named national winners at the National Shotgun Competition; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Ashlin Reid of Bulloch County was named National 4-H Beekeeping Essay
- 10 Contest winner; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Laura Stone of Burke County was named a member of the National 4-H Youth
- 12 Technology Leadership Team; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Tuesday, February 15, 2005, is 4-H Day at the State Capitol.
- 14 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 15 the members of this body recognize and commend the 4-H Clubs of Georgia; the University
- of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 4-H Program; Mr. Scottie
- 17 Rowell, State 4-H Club President; Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, State 4-H Youth Leader; Dr. Mel
- 18 Garber, Associate Dean of the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and
- 19 Environmental Sciences; and each of the 2004-2005 4-H District Presidents, 2004 National
- 20 4-H Conference delegates, 2004 Teen Leadership winners, 2004 Dean's Awards winners,
- 21 National Shotgun Competition winners, National Beekeeping Essay Contest winner, and
- 22 National 4-H Youth Technology Leadership Team member for their numerous
- 23 accomplishments and for the leadership which they have demonstrated.
- 24 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Mr. Scottie Rowell, Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, Dr. Mel
- 25 Garber, and each of the 4-H leaders and members named in this resolution are invited to
- appear before the House of Representatives on February 15, 2005, and that Mr. Scottie
- 27 Rowell is invited to address the House of Representatives upon such date.
- 28 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to Mr. Scottie Rowell, Dr.

05 LC 34 0193

1 Roger C. (Bo) Ryles, Dr. Mel Garber, each of the 4-H leaders and members named in this

2 resolution, and the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension Service.