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Senators Meyer von Bremen of the 12th, Thompson of the 33rd, Tanksley of the 32nd,1

Lamutt of the 21st and Clay of the 37th offered the following amendment:2

Amend HB 736 by striking lines 1 through 4 of page 1 and inserting in their place the3

following:4

"To amend Chapter 5 of Title 48 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to ad5

valorem taxation of property, so as to increase the amount of the state-wide homestead6

exemption from all ad valorem taxation for state, county, and school purposes from7

$2,000.00 to $50,000.00; to specify the terms and conditions of the exemption and the8

procedures relating thereto; to provide for applicability; to provide for a referendum; to9

provide for automatic repeal under certain circumstances; to provide for periods of10

limitation with respect to assessment of ad valorem property taxes; to provide for11

procedures, conditions, and limitations; to provide for effective dates; to repeal conflicting12

laws; and for other purposes."13

By striking lines 6, 7, and 8 of page 1 and inserting in their place the following:14

"SECTION 1.15

Chapter 5 of Title 48 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to ad valorem16

taxation of property, is amended by striking Code Section 48-5-44, relating to the state-wide17

$2,000.00 homestead exemption from state, county, and school district ad valorem taxes, and18

inserting in its place a new Code Section 48-5-44 to read as follows:19

'48-5-44.20

(a)  The homestead of each resident of this state actually occupied by the owner as a21

residence and homestead shall be exempted from all ad valorem taxation for state, county,22

and school purposes, except taxes levied by municipalities for school purposes and except23

to pay interest on and to retire bonded indebtedness, for as long as the residence and24

homestead is actually occupied by the owner primarily as a residence and homestead.  The25

exemption shall not exceed $2,000.00 $50,000.00 of the value of the homestead.26

(b)  Should the owner of a dwelling house on a farm who is already entitled to a homestead27

exemption participate in the program of rural housing and obtain a new house under28

contract with the local housing authority, he such owner shall be entitled to receive the29

same homestead exemption as allowed before making the contract.30

(c)  Except as otherwise specifically provided by law, the value of all homestead property31

in excess of $2,000.00 $50,000.00 shall remain subject to taxation.  The exemption shall32
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be returned and claimed in the manner prescribed by law.  This exemption shall not apply1

to taxes levied by municipalities.'2

SECTION 2.3

Said chapter is further amended by adding a new Code section immediately following Code4

Section 48-5-300, to be designated Code Section 48-5-300.1, to read as follows:5

'48-5-300.1.6

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in this Code section or this title, the amount of any tax7

imposed under this chapter may be assessed at any time.8

(b)  Except as otherwise provided by subsection (c) of this Code section or by this title, in9

the case where a return or report is filed or deemed to be filed, the amount of any tax10

imposed by this chapter shall be assessed within three years after the return or report was11

filed.  For purposes of this subsection, a return or report is filed before the last day12

prescribed by law for the filing thereof shall be considered as filed on such last day.13

(c)  Except as otherwise provided by this title, in the case of a false or fraudulent return or14

report filed with the intent to evade tax or a failure to file a return or report, the amount of15

any tax imposed by this chapter may be assessed at any time.16

(d)  Where, before the expiration of the time prescribed in this Code section for the17

assessment of any tax imposed by this title, both the board of tax assessors and the person18

subject to assessment have consented in writing to its assessment after such time, the tax19

may be assessed at any time prior to the expiration of the agreed upon period.  The period20

so agreed upon may be extended by subsequent agreements in writing made before the21

expiration of the previously agreed upon period.  The board of tax assessors is authorized22

in any such agreement to extend similarly the period within which a claim for refund may23

be filed.24

(e)  If a claim for refund of taxes paid for any taxable period is filed within the last six25

months of the period during which the board of tax assessors may assess the amount of26

taxes, the assessment period shall be extended for a period of six months beginning on the27

day the claim for refund is filed.28

(f)  No action without assessment shall be brought for the collection of any tax after the29

expiration of the period for assessment.'"30
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By striking lines 9 and 10 of page 2 and inserting in their place the following:1

"SECTION 3.2

Unless prohibited by the federal Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, the Secretary of3

State shall call and conduct a referendum as provided in this section for the purpose of4

submitting Section 1 of this Act to the electors of the State of Georgia for approval or5

rejection.  The Secretary of State shall conduct that election on the date of the November,6

2004, state-wide general election.  The Secretary of State shall issue the call and conduct that7

election as provided by general law.  The Secretary of State shall cause the date and purpose8

of the election to be published in the official organ of each county in the state once a week9

for two weeks immediately preceding the date of the referendum.  The ballot shall have10

written thereon the following:11

'(  )  YES12

 13

  (  )  NO14

Shall the Act be approved which increases the state-wide ad valorem tax

exemption from all ad valorem taxation for state, county, and school

purposes from $2,000.00 to $50,000.00?'

All persons desiring to vote for approval of the Act shall vote 'Yes,' and those persons15

desiring to vote for rejection of the Act shall vote 'No.'  If more than one-half of the votes16

cast on such question are for approval of the Act, then Section 1 of this Act shall become17

effective on January 1, 2005, and shall apply to all tax years beginning on or after that date.18

If the Act is not so approved or if the election is not conducted as provided in this section,19

Section 1 of this Act shall not become effective and this Act shall be automatically repealed20

on the first day of January immediately following that election date. 21

SECTION 4.22

Except as otherwise provided in Section 3 of this Act, this Act shall become effective upon23

its approval by the Governor or upon its becoming law without such approval.24

SECTION 5.25

All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed."26


