04 LC 99 0564

House Resolution 1585

By: Representative Parham of the 94th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending Georgia's Battery D of the 214th Coast Artillery Anti-Aircraft Regiment and
- 2 recognizing the men who served in its ranks; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, five officers and 102 enlisted men of Battery D of the 214th Coast Artillery
- 4 Anti-Aircraft Regiment of the Georgia National Guard were called to active duty on
- 5 November 25, 1940; and
- 6 WHEREAS, these citizens and soldiers of Georgia were asked to serve their country for only
- 7 one year but, once our nation was at war, most of these gallant men served until 1945; and
- 8 WHEREAS, these courageous and selfless soldiers were under the command of Captains
- 9 Jere N. Moore and medical physician Howard Cary and are listed individually as follows:
- 10 Lewis S. Anderson; Jack C. Andrews; Henry A. Arnold; Wade W. Avant; Lonnie L.
- 11 Babb, Jr.; Robert F. Bailey; Charles W. Beard; Jack R. Bell; James C. Bell; Mack Bentley;
- 12 Ed D. Blanton; John C. Boyd; Samuel E. Braxley; William R. Braxley; William S. Brewer;
- 13 Edgar T. Brooks; Mead S. Brown; Rufus E. Brown; George C. Bush; Robert T. Champion;
- 14 Fred W. Clance; Jay B. Combes; Emory S. Cook, Jr.; Woodrow W. Cook; Hoyt L. Dennard;
- 15 Luke L. Draffin; Charles W. Ennis; James B. Ennis; Curtis Eubanks; Joseph A. Farmer;
- 16 Thomas E. Farmer; Marvin E. Fordham; Walter S. Franks; Floyd Fredrick; Alvin T. Gilman;
- 17 Robert L. Gilman; Wilbur F. Gilmore; Roscoe Goff; Emory L. Goggins; Duggan Golden;
- 18 John R. Grimes; Marvin B. Grimes; Harvell S. Hall; Louis H. Hall; William M. Harrington;
- 19 John E. Hudson; Gerald L. Hutchinson; Charles Ivey; James L. Ivey; Charles E. Janes;
- 20 Harry B. Jennings; Lewis E. Johnson; Melvin J. Johnson; James J. Jones, Jr.; Harmon G.
- 21 Jordan, Jr.; Grover J. Layfield; W. T. Lingold; Alton L. Lingould; Carol W. Martin;
- 22 Malcus B. Mathis; Denson H. McCluney; Wilbur McCoy, Jr.; Johnnie J. McCullar; Harris
- 23 McMallan; Miller F. McMallan; John R. McMillan; Otis A. McNeely; Arthur Miller;
- Lowell S. Moran; John R. Morrow; John W. Mosley; David M. Mullis; William B. O'Quinn;
- 25 Grady M. Osborne; Richard L. Overman; John E. Parker; Charlie B. Patterson; James B.
- 26 Polk; Howard U. Pounds; Carroll E. Prather; Robert R. Price, Jr.; Harold I. Proctor;

04 LC 99 0564

1 Homer A. Proctor; Leroy J. Proctor; Tannis V. Proctor; Claude W. Redwine; Herbert

- 2 Reynolds; William P. Simpson; Carl W. Smith; James C. Smith; James L. Smith; Leo J.
- 3 Smith; Lewis E. Smith; Marion L. Smith; Francis E. Tanner; Herman C. Taylor; James D.
- 4 Teague, Jr.; Sanford L. Thomason; William A. Veal; Carl Vinson; Nathaniel P. Walker; Earl
- 5 Webb; Charles R. Whitten; Beal Williams; Roy W. Wilson; Edgar Wood; and Louie V.
- 6 Youngblood.
- 7 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 8 the members of this body commend the men of Georgia's Battery D of the 214th Coast
- 9 Artillery Anti-Aircraft Regiment for their faithful service in defense of our nation and
- 10 recognize those patriotic men who served in its ranks and express our sincerest thanks for
- 11 their great and honorable service.
- 12 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the members of Battery D,
- 14 the City of Milledgeville, and Baldwin County.