04 LC 31 0717

Senate Resolution 878

By: Senators Zamarripa of the 36th and Stephens of the 51st

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Urging the Department of Natural Resources and other agencies to examine and propose a
- 2 hiking trail in Gilmer County to be named for President Jimmy Carter; and for other
- 3 purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, Jimmy Carter of Plains, Georgia, was the thirty-ninth President of the United
- 5 States of America, and Rosalyn Carter was our first lady; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Jimmy and Rosalyn Carter have provided exceptional service to the United
- 7 States and to the State of Georgia; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Jimmy and Rosalyn Carter have had a long-standing commitment to the
- 9 conservation and protection of the natural environment of both the State of Georgia and of
- 10 the United States of America; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Jimmy Carter has long had a residence in Gilmer County and has expressed his
- 12 affection for the natural resources and beauty of Gilmer County; and
- WHEREAS, hiking is an important, traditional family recreational activity enjoyed by all
- ages and promotes greater understanding and care for our environment.
- 15 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- urge the Department of Natural Resources, and any other agency with which the department
- 17 wishes to consult, to examine the requirements for and to propose a hiking trail in Gilmer
- 18 County, Georgia, in the appropriate properties in and around the Rich Mountain Wildlife
- 19 Area.
- 20 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the hiking trail should take into account the current
- 21 plans for the proposed area and that efforts should be made to connect the proposed trail to
- 22 existing trails, so that families across Georgia may more easily have access to recreation.

04 LC 31 0717

1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the proposed hiking trail in Gilmer County be named

- 2 for President James Earl Carter, Jr., and First Lady Rosalyn Carter, with appropriate
- 3 references made to their service both as President and First Lady and as most honorable

4 citizens and naturalists of the State of Georgia.