04 LC 99 0435

Senate Resolution 849

By: Senators Clay of the 37th, Lamutt of the 21st and Tanksley of the 32nd

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the Durham Middle School Eighth Grade Symphonic Band and its directors;
- 2 and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the Durham Middle School Eighth Grade Symphonic Band, led by Michelle
- 4 Rickard, Director of Bands, and Jay Asher, Associate Director of Bands, was one of only
- 5 four bands in Georgia selected to participate in the University of Georgia's Middle School
- 6 Band Festival held in Athens, in December, 2003; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the performing highlights of that evening included "Salute to the Duke" with
- 8 guest conductor Peter Witte, chair of the music department and director of instrumental
- 9 music at Kennesaw State University, and "Gemeinhardt Suite" with guest soloist Nick
- 10 DiCillo, a junior at Kennesaw Mountain High School; and
- WHEREAS, in addition to a standing ovation from the audience, Band Director Michelle
- 12 Rickard was presented with the National Band Association's "Citation of Excellence," an
- 13 award given only to the top band directors in the nation; and
- 14 WHEREAS, this band has received superior ratings at annual Georgia Music Educators
- 15 Association band festivals and maintained an active performance schedule across the
- 16 Southeast and metropolitan Atlanta, including an exchange concert at the Historic Douglass
- 17 Theater in Macon, a public service concert at the Tennessee Aquarium Pavilion in
- 18 Chattanooga, and a performance at Pops in the Park sponsored by Harrison High School
- 19 Band; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the band members are Sarah Alter, Elizabeth Brown, Justine Chabucos, Haley
- 21 Diget, Courtney Ebert, Lauren Koester, Justin Murray, Danielle Pitts, Megan Thomas, Paige
- 22 Thompson, and Katy Wood (flutes); Laura McGee (oboe); Chris Soyars and Amber Turner
- 23 (bassoons); Sarah Caffrey, Alex Cates, Morgan Helton, Youngjik Kim, Jonathan Linn, Blaik
- 24 Paris, and Audrey Whittle (clarinets); Timothy Brodeur, Nathan Ellingson, and Isaac Rose

04 LC 99 0435

1 (bass clarinets); Daniel Finnegan, Joseph Fontane, Jessica Mikolowsky, Nick Rotondo, and

- 2 Rachel Shuffield (alto saxophones); Peter Jones (tenor saxophone); Jeremy Jose and Andrew
- 3 Varela (baritone saxophones); Tim Allen, Joey Bakos, Kyle Beaman, Brandon Carrillo, Joey
- 4 Dolensky, Andrew Ibay, Tyler Jones, and A.J Reynolds (trumpets); Dave Adams, Carolyn
- 5 Borough, Sarah Giarratana, and Lindsey Kerns (French horns); Austin Harvey, David
- 6 Janeira, Jonathan Morgan, Timmy Mulligan, and Tyler Strub (trombones); Melissa
- 7 Drummond (euphonium); Jeffrey Moon (tuba); Carter Black, Marshall Brown, David
- 8 Chabucos, Mark Hansen, Ricky Mewborn, Chris Rickard, and Jay Smith (percussion).
- 9 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 10 commend the Durham Middle School Eighth Grade Symphonic Band and its directors,
- 11 Michelle Rickard and Jay Asher.
- 12 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 13 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Durham Middle School.