04

Senate Resolution 831

By: Senators Dean of the 31st and Hamrick of the 30th

A RESOLUTION

Commending the State University of West Georgia Cheerleading Teams; and for other
 purposes.

WHEREAS, in 2002 and 2003, the West Georgia Braves' cheer program rose to national
prominence winning back-to-back UCA Division II National Championships, and as they
prepared for the 2004 nationals, many wondered if the university's program could match its
past accomplishments; and

WHEREAS, at the 2004 nationals, West Georgia not only equaled its previous successes, but
the Braves' program exceeded all expectations by bringing home two national titles and
establishing themselves as a national powerhouse to be reckoned with; and

10 WHEREAS, under the direction of head coach Sherry Cooney, the coed cheer squad

11 established its reputation and place as a national dynasty by winning its third straight UCA

12 Division II Championship as the Braves' squad out hustled and outshone an impressive crop

13 of competitors in the competition finals; and

14 WHEREAS, West Georgia's championship in the coed competition was not its first title of

15 the weekend, as a gifted young West Georgia all-girls team, under the steadfast stewardship

16 of head coach Chad Houck, stunned the competition winning its first national title in the

17 event; and

18 WHEREAS, with only six veterans on the team, the coed squad was not expected to rise

19 above its 2003 runner-up finish, but the squad's focused performance in the final was close

20 to flawless and they brought home the event's top honors; and

- 21 WHEREAS, coed squad team members Candice Abney, Molly Costello, Lauren Daigle, Eric
- 22 Deal, Gabe Delgado, Ian Fitchpatrick, Brandon Glenn, Talon Harvell, David Hood, Jessie
- 23 Lewallen, Ryan McKinnon, Amber Melear, Kristin Nakama, Adam Nash, Ryan Saegert,

- 1 Patrick Smith, Kristin Urquhart, Lacy Wilcox, Ali Williamson, and Daphne Wilkerson
- 2 showed remarkable grit, determination, and focus as they captured first place; and
- 3 WHEREAS, the all-girls squad of Brianne Anderson, Ashley Bjorklund, Elizabeth Bolin,
- 4 Brittany Bunn, Kasey Cortner, Jennifer Crass, Tiffany Elgin, Sandy Faith, Leslie Fowler,
- 5 Jessica Holland, Alexis Johnson, Tosha Lanham, Laura LeMay, Drea Mickles, Stacey
- 6 O'Neal, Stephanie Poteet, Ashley Reeves, Lisa Robinson, Heather Spraggins, and Brianne
- 7 Watkins displayed a level of competitive spirit rivaling its coed counterpart.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
 commend the State University of West Georgia Cheerleading Teams on their dominating
 win of the Division II All-Girl Cheerleading Competition and Coed Cheerleading
 Competition.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
 to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to the State University of West Georgia
 cheerleading teams and their coaches.