03 LC 14 8529

Senate Resolution 543

By: Senator Unterman of the 45th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending, congratulating, and saluting Gwinnett County Fire and Emergency Services
- 2 and their members; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, on January 20, 2002, the following personnel responded to a fire call at a
- 4 business that held a significant history with the department; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the warehouse in question in Lawrenceville stores highly flammable packaging
- 6 materials, bringing to everyone's mind the potential for a large, long-lasting fire like the one
- 7 in the early 1980's; and
- 8 WHEREAS, because the warehouse was densely packed with large pallets of packaging
- 9 material that could host a hidden, smoldering fire, everything had to be moved out of the
- 10 building and sprayed down; and
- 11 WHEREAS, GCFS crews arrived in the early afternoon on Sunday and remained on the
- scene until shift change at 7:00 A.M. the following day; and
- WHEREAS, this was a hard working, time consuming fire scene and all of the personnel
- 14 deserve to be recognized for their participation and contributions; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the following personnel were nominated by Gwinnett County Fire and
- 16 Emergency Services for Unit Citations because of their willingness to perform the job at
- 17 hand without hesitation and working as a team; and
- 18 WHEREAS, a Unit Citation will be awarded to an entire unit whose outstanding efforts
- 19 reflect teamwork, cooperation, and support of the Mission of Gwinnett County Fire and
- 20 Emergency Services; and

03 LC 14 8529

1 WHEREAS, in the award of the Unit Citation, Gwinnett County Fire and Emergency

- 2 Services recognized: Terry Bagley, James Gowens, Donald Pugh, Ronald Bailey, Larry
- 3 House, Jeff Rice, Ken Barton, Wayne Keneipp, Roy Richardson, Russell Buice, Dayton
- 4 Kort, Chase Robinson, Frederick Cephas, David Layton, Brian Rogers, Terry Chaffin,
- 5 Dennis Malone, John Rowan, Mike Cown, Blake McArthur, Jeff Schnaak, David Crockett,
- 6 Richard McCart, David Scogin, Charles Daniel, Sue Meeks, Mike Smith, Frank Daniell, Don
- 7 Miller, Troy Smith, Angie Duffy, Phillip Mull, Scott Sperling, Don Firment, Steve Nichols,
- 8 Robert Thomas, Tommy Flowers, Jeff Norton, John Whelchel, Roger Fowler, Tim Norton,
- 9 Gary Wirl, Martin Gable, Berry Parker, J.T. Wood, Sammy Garmon, Joe Parks, Randy
- 10 Worley, Mark Garner, John Perry, G.W. Wright, Edward Gill, and Robert Post.
- 11 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 12 congratulate these members of Gwinnett County Fire and Emergency Services for the actions
- 13 that led to their receipt of the Unit Citation.
- 14 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 15 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Gwinnett County Fire and Emergency
- 16 Services.