03 LC 22 5264

Senate Resolution 309

By: Senators Jackson of the 50th and Hudgens of the 47th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the East Hall Vikings basketball team; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, the 2002-03 East Hall Vikings basketball team won the coveted Lanierland
- 3 Tournament, finished runner-up in Region 7-AAA, and captured the AAA state title with a
- 4 final record of 31 victories and a single loss; and
- 5 WHEREAS, this remarkable team compiled an astounding record, averaging 91.5 points per
- 6 game and scoring 100 points or more in ten games; and
- 7 WHEREAS, team members were Keldrick Coleman, Lee Coleman, Kyle Edge, Barry
- 8 Ellison, Jamie Evans, Frank Davis, Brandon Glasper, Shunquise Glenn, Josh Hudgins,
- 9 Marquez Jackson, Brody Langston, Tracy Lipscomb, Chris Millwood, Javon Randolph,
- 10 Kevin Reeves, Jerrenda Wheeler, and Carl Wilson; and
- 11 WHEREAS, this talented team had stellar leadership from veteran coach Seth Vining, who
- 12 has coached since 1975, and who was named Class AAA Coach of the Year and honored
- with the Naismith Award as Georgia's Male Prep Coach of the Year; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the team's outstanding senior player was Javon Randolph, who was recognized
- as Class AAA Player of the Year, and named a member of the All-star team, the All-state
- 16 team, and the Metro Atlanta Team of the Year; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Coach Vining credits the team's success to his assistant coaches, East Hall
- 18 principal Dr. Bill Sloan, the East Hall Tip-Off Club, and the entire community.
- 19 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 20 commend and congratulate the East Hall Vikings basketball team, state champions, for their
- 21 impressive athletic achievements.

03 LC 22 5264

1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed

2 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the East Hall Vikings basketball team.