Senate Resolution 288

By: Senators Tanksley of the 32nd, Collins of the 6th, Clay of the 37th, Thompson of the 33rd, Lamutt of the 21st and Tate of the 38th

A RESOLUTION

1 Commending the Wheeler High School boys varsity basketball team; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, the Wheeler High School boys varsity basketball team won the Class 5A State
Championship for 2003 and brought fame and honor to the team, coaches, school, parents,
and the community; and

5 WHEREAS, these fabulous young men demonstrated exceptional ability throughout the6 season; and

WHEREAS, the tremendous success of this championship team will be long remembered by
players Tyrone Coppin, Sharuad Curry, Jermareo Davidson, Darnell Shepard, Richarde
McCray, Brian Moore, Jonathan Meeks, Jonathan Murray, Chris Hanna, Todd Tate,
Tramaine Aaron, Ramando Lyons, and Mike Williams, and by the team's excellent coach,
Doug Lipscomb, assistant coaches Marc Carver and Lloyd Maye, manager Gilbert Adams,
video specialist Emanuel Mills, and statisticians Donna Mau and Andrew Bashuk; and

WHEREAS, the Wildcats' outstanding season has contributed to the proud history this
school has achieved in the exciting sport of basketball and created special memories these
fine young men will treasure forever.

16 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body 17 commend and congratulate the Wheeler High School boys varsity basketball team on 18 winning the Class 5A State Championship and convey their heartiest congratulations to the 19 team and its coaches.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Head Coach Doug Lipscomb.