03 LC 31 0387

Senate Resolution 270

By: Senators Tanksley of the 32nd, Clay of the 37th, Thompson of the 33rd, Lamutt of the 21st, Collins of the 6th and Tate of the 38th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the Whitefield Academy boys basketball team; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, the Whitefield Academy boys basketball team won the Class A State
- 3 Championship for 2003 and brought fame and honor to the team, coaches, school, parents,
- 4 and the community; and
- 5 WHEREAS, these fabulous young men demonstrated exceptional ability throughout the
- 6 season; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the tremendous success of this championship team will be long remembered by
- 8 players Jonathan Hosch, Rodney Rivers, Ryan Lamb, Jarvis Bronner, Tim Morris, Stephen
- 9 Wright, Michael Byrd, Gabe Rudd, Anthony Johnson, Jeffrey Dean, Ryan Edge, and Patrick
- 10 Jackson, and by the team's excellent coach, Tyrone Johnson, assistant coach Eddie James,
- and athletic director Kevin Nix; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the Wolfpack's outstanding season has contributed to the proud history this
- school has achieved in the exciting sport of basketball and created special memories these
- 14 fine young men will treasure forever.
- 15 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 16 commend and congratulate the Whitefield Academy boys basketball team on winning the
- 17 Class A State Championship and convey their heartiest congratulations to the team and its
- 18 coaches.
- 19 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 20 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Coach Tyrone Johnson.