03 LC 14 8206

Senate Resolution 81

By: Senators Mullis of the 53rd, Bowen of the 13th, Thomas of the 54th, Seay of the 34th and Reed of the 35th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending accredited fire and emergency service agencies of Georgia,
- 2 and in observance of the 31st Annual Firefighters' Recognition Day; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the mission of the Commission on Fire and Accreditation International is to
- 4 assist fire and emergency service agencies in achieving excellence through self assessment
- 5 and accreditation in order to provide continuous quality improvement and enhancement of
- 6 services delivery to their communities; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the sponsors of this resolution continue to support and encourage efforts to
- 8 elevate the performance of fire and emergency services personnel throughout Georgia; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the Atlanta Fire Department, Columbus Department of Fire and Emergency
- 10 Medical Services, and Fayette County Department of Emergency Services have sought to
- raise the level of effectiveness of their sworn and civic duty through criteria established by
- 12 the Commission on Fire and Accreditation International; and
- WHEREAS, the recognition of these three agencies should serve as inspiration to other fire
- 14 and emergency service agencies throughout Georgia and encourage the pursuit of excellence
- and validation from international peers; and
- 16 WHEREAS, February 4, 2003, is Firefighters' Recognition Day, and it is fitting and proper
- 17 that accredited fire and emergency agencies be recognized for their outstanding service in
- protecting the lives, property, and environment of the citizens and visitors of Georgia.
- 19 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the above accredited
- 20 agencies are recognized and all fire and emergency agencies in Georgia are commended for
- 21 their outstanding service to its citizens and visitors.

03 LC 14 8206

1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed

- 2 to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to Chief Tommy Whitaker, President of
- 3 Georgia State Firefighters Association, and the fire department chiefs in Atlanta, Columbus,
- 4 and Fayette County, Georgia.