House Resolution 86

By: Representatives Coleman of the 118th, Powell of the 23rd, Cummings of the 19th, Shaw of the 143rd, Floyd of the 132nd, and others

A RESOLUTION

1 Commending Georgia's county election superintendents and county election board members;

- 2 and for other purposes.
- WHEREAS, in 2002, Georgia was the first state in the nation to pioneer the state-wide use
 of electronic touch screen voting machines; and

5 WHEREAS, this bold step into the 21st Century of voting was highly successful and popular
6 with the voters of the State of Georgia; and

WHEREAS, much of the credit for the successful implementation of this initiative must be
given to Georgia's county election superintendents and county election board members who
worked closely with the Secretary of State and her staff to achieve such excellent results; and

WHEREAS, these dedicated superintendents and board members participated in numerous training sessions for themselves and their staffs, recruited and trained thousands of poll workers, helped to prepare and educate the public for the transition to electronic voting, and otherwise accomplished in Georgia what no other state has done - the implementation of a uniform state-wide voting system.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that this body hereby recognizes and commends Georgia's county election superintendents and county election board members for their exemplary public service and the great credit their efforts have reflected on the State of Georgia and its counties.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that an appropriate copy of this resolution be presented to each of the following named county election superintendents and county election board chairpersons: Diane Hallman of Appling County, Jeffery Paulk McGowan of Atkinson County, Joe Boatright of Bacon County, Angela Hendrix of Baker County, Todd Blackwell of Baldwin County, Betty Thomas of Banks County, Tammy Brown of Barrow County,

1 Melvin Bagley of Bartow County, Mary Frances Cantrell of Ben Hill County, Susan W. 2 Griner of Berrien County, Elaine Carr of Bibb County, Kenneth Powell of Bleckley County, 3 Johnnie E. Crews of Brantley County, JoAnn K. Collins of Brooks County, Sam Davis, Jr., of Bryan County, Lee H. DeLoach of Bulloch County, Barbara North Hammett of Burke 4 County, Vicki W. Johnston of Butts County, Annie Doris Holder of Calhoun County, Martin 5 Gillette of Camden County, Charles E. Beasley of Candler County, Patty Brown of Carroll 6 County, Billie Davis of Catoosa County, Bob Phillips of Charlton County, Gail Whitehead 7 of Chatham County, Kenneth Martin Van Horn of Chattahoochee County, Jon Payne of 8 Chattooga County, Al Stone of Cherokee County, Gail Schrader of Clarke County, Melissa 9 L. Shivers of Clay County, Eugene E. Lawson of Clayton County, Karleen S. O'Berry of 10 Clinch County, Sharon Dunn-Wingfield of Cobb County, Troy C. Paul of Coffee County, 11 Aileen H. Dunn of Colquitt County, Debra Marshall of Columbia County, Louise Cowart of 12 Cook County, Mary T. Cranford of Coweta County, Sara Wallace Paravis of Crawford 13 County, Belinda F. Griffin of Crisp County, Jan Ellison of Dade County, Jeannine McGee 14 of Dawson County, Tripp J. Barwick of Decatur County, Linda Latimore of DeKalb County, 15 John Kelly of Dodge County, Dwayne Forehand of Dooly County, Carolyn Hatcher of 16 Dougherty County, Robert Akers of Douglas County, Tanya Holley of Early County, Carl 17 18 Rodgers of Echols County, Frances Y. Seckinger of Effingham County, Susan Sexton of 19 Elbert County, Jimmy M. Dorsey of Emanuel County, Darin McCoy of Evans County, 20 George Early of Fannin County, Carolyn Combs of Fayette County, Evon Billups of Floyd 21 County, Gary J. Smith of Forsyth County, Eddy Fowler of Franklin County, Gloria W. 22 Champion of Fulton County, Margaret Evans Huff of Gilmer County, Denise Dallas of Glascock County, Cecil Little of Glynn County, Shea Hicks of Gordon County, Sadie Voyles 23 of Grady County, LaVerne C. Ogletree of Greene County, Lynn Ledford of Gwinnett 24 25 County, Ann F. Jarrell of Habersham County, Anne Phillips of Hall County, Edith J. Ingram of Hancock County, Ronald Gable of Haralson County, Martha M. Hartley of Harris County, 26 27 Bob Smith of Hart County, Joseph Bledsoe of Heard County, Jenny Evans of Henry County, Shirley Collins of Houston County, Jennie S. Turner of Irwin County, Margaret Deadwyler 28 29 of Jackson County, Kathy C. Tyler of Jasper County, Jeffrey C. Chavis of Jeff Davis County, Quillian L. Bryant, Jr., of Jefferson County, Wanda Burke of Jenkins County, Joe Drew of 30 Johnson County, Marion Moore of Jones County, Kathryn B. Martin of Lamar County, Judy 31 B. Mullis of Lanier County, Helen W. Harper of Laurens County, Veronica Johnson of Lee 32 County, Julie Martin of Liberty County, Virginia T. Williams of Lincoln County, Marie H. 33 Middleton of Long County, Deb Cox of Lowndes County, Michael Chastain of Lumpkin 34 County, Mack S. McCarty of Macon County, Donald "Hoppy" Royston of Madison County, 35 James R. (Bump) Welch of Marion County, Tiffany Neal of McDuffie County, Eleanor Gale 36 of McIntosh County, Stiles Allen Estes of Meriwether County, Brenda McNease of Miller 37

1 County, Susan D. Taylor of Mitchell County, Karen H. Pittman of Monroe County, Ruby 2 Nell Sanders of Montgomery County, Mike Bracewell of Morgan County, Connie Winkler 3 of Murray County, Nancy E. Boren of Muscogee County, Kathryn G. Allen of Newton County, Pat Hayes of Oconee County, Beverly W. Nation of Oglethorpe County, Deborah 4 5 Anderson of Paulding County, Deborah W. Hunnicutt of Peach County, Kim Kelley of Pickens County, Brenda C. Howard of Pierce County, Lynn Brandenburg of Pike County, 6 Frances Peyton of Polk County, Jeff Jones of Pulaski County, Patrice Howard of Putnam 7 County, Robert Bennett of Quitman County, Larry E. Cannon of Rabun County, Linda E. 8 Jackson of Randolph County, Lynn Bailey of Richmond County, Donna Morrison of 9 Rockdale County, Marie M. Giddens of Schley County, Debbie Brown Wells of Screven 10 County, J. E. (Bo) Earnest of Seminole County, Helen G. Grayson of Spalding County, 11 George Hosea of Stephens County, Teresa Nelson of Stewart County, Sherry Ratliff of 12 Sumter County, Joe S. Johnson, Jr., of Talbot County, Martha R. Mayo of Taliaferro County, 13 Diane Callaway of Tattnall County, Ronnie A. Parker of Taylor County, Diane Walker of 14 Telfair County, Ann Jennings of Terrell County, Sallylu H. Hart of Thomas County, Sylvia 15 Dixon of Tift County, Jackie O. Driskell of Toombs County, Fletcher Griffin of Towns 16 County, Grace B. Proctor of Treutlen County, Donald W. Boyd of Troup County, Eddie Joe 17 18 Bryan of Turner County, Kathryn Crenshaw of Twiggs County, James W. Jones of Union 19 County, Virgil Hamby of Upson County, Barbara Berry of Walker County, H. Greg Adams of Walton County, Marcus Lee Sweat, Jr., of Ware County, Lucy J. Bryant of Warren 20 21 County, Rachel T. Lord of Washington County, Christine Burch of Wayne County, Margie 22 Everett of Webster County, Roy O. Braswell, Jr., of Wheeler County, Garrison Baker of 23 White County, Kay Staten of Whitfield County, Betty J. Anderson of Wilcox County, Jim Burton of Wilkes County, Harold Sheppard of Wilkinson County, and Virginia Andrews of 24 25 Worth County.